Thought-Of-The-Day: May 16th 2017

Well aren’t you handy with a camera!

Thing 1 has a camera now. It’s his parents’ old one and he plays with it. It is in working condition, and he’s fairly good at taking pictures with it. Good for a just-turned-two-year-old in any case.

I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned here before but I’m rather camera-shy. I far prefer to be behind the camera, and I’m definitely not one for taking selfies. And you can probably imagine that Thing 1 keeps trying to take photos of me.

Am I a terrible person if I’ve been deleting the pictures of me? Really, nobody needs to see a picture of me yawning, or a picture of my hip because he walked right up next to me to take it as I was sorting lunch…

Okay that still makes me sound like a bad person… Though I’m not sure he even fully understands the permanence of the pictures he takes, so he doesn’t miss them if they’re not there any more.

I’m happy to encourage his photography. But I’ll be doing my best to stay out of frame!

Love,

Lady Joyful

13 thoughts on “Thought-Of-The-Day: May 16th 2017

  1. I liked your post. Can’t you ask everyone nicely and let them know how you feel about having your picture taken. As for deleting the pictures of you, well nothing wrong with that either. If Thing 1 wants a picture of you to keep then you might want to put conditions on the ways you let Thing 1 take the pictures. Like don’t show anyone else the picture, No Sharing, No Posting and any other conditions you want to put in Place. This might help or just plain delete the pictures. I hope you like my ideas.

    • Well, Thing 1 is only very little (just turned 2) so he’s not likely to be doing anything with the pictures 🙂 But of course his family have access to the camera, and, well… I just don’t like photographs of me 😛 So deleting seems to be the simplest route.

Leave a Reply

