Thought-Of-The-Day: 25th April 2017

What’s in a name?

The boys seem to be learning more words rapidly. They’ve both recently developed their own “name” for me. My real name is not the easiest and I don’t expect them to manage it any time soon.

Thing 2 was the first to name me. He calls me “Daduu.” Thing 1 only started in the last couple of days. He calls me “Emmi.” You may have noticed that neither of those words have much in common. Indeed they have little in common with my name. The only letters in either of those names that appear in mine are a and e. And the e in my name is silent.

I really have no idea how they came up with this names for me. “Daduu” does at some occasions sound almost as though it bears some resemblance to my name, but “Emmi” is a complete mystery.

Not that it makes all that much difference at the moment anyway, because they still have a tendency to call me “Äiti” (mummy) when they particularly want my attention.

Love,

Lady Joyful

3 thoughts on “Thought-Of-The-Day: 25th April 2017

    • Ah, Gaga is a cute name! My family has a similar story – we all called my great grandmother “Ninny” (Nin for short), which stemmed from what my mum’s cousin called her when he was young. (And her husband was Pampy, or Pamp, for the same reason. I don’t remember him though as he died when I was very little.)

Leave a Reply

