Thought-Of-The-Day: 22nd April 2017

How are there so many good films I’ve not watched?

Actually maybe I don’t even mean just “good” films. Popular films. Or perhaps influential films is more along the lines of what I mean. Things that “everyone” else has watched and I haven’t. Classics, cult or otherwise.

When I first visited Finland husband (who at that point was boyfriend) insisted we watch all the Star Wars films because I hadn’t seen them. (Actually I think I’d seen one from the prequel trilogy, possibly.) Films like A Knight’s Tale and The Princess Bride I’ve only seen within the last 6 months or so.

I haven’t seen The Shawshank Redemption (I think I heard some of it when the rest of my family watched it, but I was engrossed in a book at the time!) I don’t think I’ve seen Saving Private Ryan. I’ve not seen The Rocky Horror Picture Show or Singin’ In The Rain. I can’t even say for certain that I’ve seen The Lion King or Pocahontas in their entireties. And I think the only Indiana Jones film I’ve seen is the newest one which some people like to pretend didn’t happen. I’ve never seen ET.

On the other hand, I have seen Monty Python and the Holy Grail, as well as their Life of Brian. I’ve watched The Wizard of Oz, The Matrix films, most if not all of the Jurassic Park films. I think I’ve seen Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon. I’ve watched Memento one and a half times.

I’m sure there’s a lot of good/popular/inspirational films that I have watched. And a lot that I should watch. Let me know if there’s any you’d recommend!

Love,

Lady Joyful

PS, apologies for the lack of a picture post today. Hopefully I’ll have one for you tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

