Photo-A-Day: April 14th 2017

As with yesterday’s picture, today’s shows that it’s the little things that can really make a picture work. Imagine this picture without the man paddling along. Without that pop of colour. It would just be the grey-brown water. Nothing special. A bit boring really.

Admittedly even with the yellow boat passing through the shot it is by no means an award-winning picture. It’d certainly be nicer had it been a clearer day with clearer waters to match. But even so, I think my point stands. The addition of the colour adds interest. As does the movement that is apparent in the image. It raises questions. Who is he? Where did he come from, and where is he going? Does he row for the solitude, the sights (not that there was much to see amongst all the mist!), the exercise?

Seeing as I didn’t feel the need to jump off the bridge and swim over to him to ask (fairly sure I would have died of super cold water filling my lungs if I’d tried…) we will probably never know the true answers to these questions. But feel free to invent your own story!

Love,

Lady Joyful

6 thoughts on “Photo-A-Day: April 14th 2017

  1. What a great perspective!
    Yes, as a writer still learning the craft and expanding my own horizons, it has been told to me to find creativity and ideas for writing to observe the world. Look at people as they walk, ride, jog, or whatever. Sit in a café, laundromat, restaurant, store, library and ask yourself questions about those around you. Each person has a story, it is up to you to discover it.
    Have a blessed Easter!

    • Thank you!
      Yes that’s very good advice. I don’t write as much as I would like (well… I write blogs, but I meant fiction writing specifically 🙂 ), but even so I try to apply a creative mind to the things I see. It helps prompt ideas, and also can relieve boredom 😉
      A wonderful Easter to you too 🙂

Leave a Reply

