Thought-Of-The-Day: February 13th 2017

“Hey now, don’t kick the bucket!”

When I said it I meant it literally. There was a bucket. Thing 1 was kicking it. I told him not to. Pretty straightforward.

But then I got thinking about the phrase in the metaphorical sense. For anyone who is not familiar with the idiom, to kick the bucket is to die.

Obviously I would encourage the boys not to kick the bucket in that sense either!

It’s an odd expression. I wonder where it comes from? Here in Finland there’s a similar expression, but rather than kicking the bucket you kick the empty. (At least, if I’m recalling it correctly.)

It’s definitely an odd phrase, if you think about it. But then, most idioms are.

Love,

Lady Joyful

4 thoughts on “Thought-Of-The-Day: February 13th 2017

Leave a Reply

