Photo-A-Day: January 28th 2017

January 28th 2017I’ve gradually been getting the last of the boxes unpacked. And yes, I know we moved months ago, but unpacking is hard work. We’ve gone through and binned/shredded a load of old paper work, sorted through a huge box that I don’t think had been unpacked after we moved to our first flat, let alone the previous one we were at, and generally tried to declutter as we go. But there’s a lot of stuff that I just don’t know what to do with, especially things that are husband’s rather than mine. And he often doesn’t feel up to sorting things, unfortunately.

Anyway, my point was that I found a ziplock bag full of pens and pencils today. Literally full of them. I don’t think we’re going to need to get any more for several years! I found a tall plastic container to corral them in. It’s not the most attractive mode of storage, but it’s better than a plastic bag, or a pile on the desk… The latter being the state of our staplers, mountain of staples, and other office miscellany that I also found. And when I say desk, I mean cat tree. Hey, it’s a flat surface…

I feel I have reached the end of the things I’m able to sort myself, at least in our ‘main’ room (the boxes remaining in the cat room might be a different matter, though that depends what’s in them!), so I’ve now resorted to just trying to get things tidier. Boxes are being stacked on to shelves to get them out of the way. If they can’t be unpacked, at least they can be a bit less of an eyesore. I’m hoping we’ll be able to get the rest sorted in the next couple of weeks, but that doesn’t seem very likely…

A big part of the problem is there are some things that we(/husband) want to keep, but that don’t necessarily need to be in the flat. As in they could be stored away somewhere. Things that have memories and sentimental value, for example. Problem is our storage area in the basement is basically full. There is no room for anything else. That’s mostly because our dishwasher is in there – this flat came with a dishwasher, but we didn’t want to get rid of our old one because it’ll be good to have when we move again. It takes up a lot of space, as you can imagine.

I’m sure we’ll get everything unpacked and sorted through eventually. Hopefully before we next move… Actually it will be a big help when the boxes we’ve emptied are collected. We’ve been saving them for FIL (they’re useful at his work, if I understand correctly), and even folded up flat they are taking up a fair bit of space in the cat room!

Love,

Lady Joyful

3 thoughts on “Photo-A-Day: January 28th 2017

  1. Pingback: Thought-Of-The-Day: January 29th 2017 | The Joyful Soul

Leave a Reply

