A Year of Motivation – Round-Up: Week 3 2017

motivationheaderWith the third week ending we’re approaching the close of the first month of this Year of Motivation. So far five habits have been introduced, none have yet been set aside as fully formed but nor have any been abandoned.

The habits I’ve been trying to build so far are:

  • Read daily
  • Colour daily
  • Go to bed on time
  • Work before play
  • Brush Lola’s teeth

Reading daily goes in hand with the reading challenge I’m doing over at Goodreads. It works out that I need to read one book every two weeks. Though I’ve not yet got to reading every day (weekends in particular I’ve not been reading at all) I am on track for the reading challenge. I am managing to read most days, either during my break at work or on the bus on my way to work.

Colouring too is going well. I’ve completely caught up in my colouring planner – I finished week 2’s page on Tuesday, this week’s page on Thursday, and worked on an image in one of my colouring books for Friday’s colouring. I didn’t do any colouring on Saturday, but today I did a little for a card I made even if I didn’t work on any colouring pages. I’m going to tentatively shelve this habit and set it aside as being formed.

Habit shelf:

  • Colour daily

Habits that have been shelved will not be checked-in on individually. I will list the habit shelf at the end of future round-up posts with a brief note to mention if they’re still on track, or if I’m having any trouble with them. Any habits that fall out of practice will be returned to the to-build list.

Okay, continuing with the list. Going to bed on time. I feel like I have been managing to go to bed a little earlier than I was before, even if not always on time. Although looking at the graph on my sleep app it looks like my bedtimes have been fairly consistent… So perhaps not. I have been getting a little bit more sleep than before though. This habit definitely still needs more work.

Work before play. I just realised I don’t have any actual way of tracking this one so it’s entirely down to my memory. Uh… I don’t think I’ve been doing very well at this one. In fact I kind of forgot I’d already added it to my list. Oops?

Brushing Lola’s teeth started out well – Sunday, Monday and Tuesday I did them. And then nothing. Ugh. Part of the problem is that she seems to be cutely sleeping for most of the time when I’m home. And if she’s not asleep I’m either in the middle of doing something, like blogging or card making, or else it’s late and bedtime and I’m too exhausted to do it. Yeah, I know. Excuses. Must do better.

Next week is week 4, the last full week of this month. It’d be nice to be able to get another habit on the shelf before the month ends. Reading seems like the most likely candidate as I’ve been doing fairly well at it thus far. Brushing Lola’s teeth is also a possibility, because once I get into the swing of it I think it’ll be relatively easy to be consistent with. The sleep and productivity habits are probably going to take a while longer though.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Leave a Reply

