Thought-Of-The-Day: January 21st 2017

I don’t remember being that productive…

The app I use to keep track of my to-dos sent me an email with a link to my “Personal Productivity Report” for 2016. Apparently I completed 7888 tasks over the year. Which sounds like a lot.

It kind of is a lot. It apparently puts me in the top 1% of users of this app. But the thing is, I use this app for everything. It’s where I write up my shopping list. Things we buy frequently are set as recurring tasks. I have each of the card challenges I follow as a recurring task, so that I remember to check when a new one goes up and add it to my spreadsheet tracking them. Checking if laundry needs to be run is a task, as is putting away the dry laundry. I can have anywhere from 30 to 90 tasks on my list a day. I don’t think I’ve ever finished all of the tasks on a given day…

It goes on to tell me that I usually complete the most tasks on a Sunday. That’s the day we normally do our main shopping for the week, so a lot of the shopping tasks would get ticked off then. Also if I’ve been putting of certain tasks chances are I will get them finished on a weekend day.

Likewise the chart showing me that I am most productive late in the evening is misleading. I don’t always tick off my tasks as I go. Quite often I will check through the to-do list at the end of the day just before bed, tick off the things I’ve completed, and postpone other things.

That said, I do usually manage to get a fair number of tasks done from my list. Maybe I should remove some of the tasks that are more routine things, then my list wouldn’t be artificially inflated.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Leave a Reply

