A Year of Motivation – Round-Up: Week 2 2017

motivationheaderI decided that if I’m going to do this thing I’m going to do it properly. Which means a title for the challenge – A Year of Motivation seemed appropriate – as well as a graphic which I quickly put together. It’s nothing special, and I’m by no means a graphic designer… But it will do.

Anyway, onto the discussion of the challenges. These are the ones I’ve set myself so far:

  • Read daily
  • Colour daily
  • Go to bed on time

Reading and colouring continue to do very well. I’m almost caught up with the colouring pages in my planner and expect to get this week’s page finished today or tomorrow. Likewise reading is going very well – I finished the first book on Friday which puts me on track (actually slightly ahead of schedule) for my book-a-fortnight goal for the year. I’ve already picked out my next book which is quite a short one so I imagine I’ll end up even more ahead of schedule with that. Which is a good thing because I’m sure there will be longer, more time consuming to read books in the future.

Bedtime is still not going very well. My sleep deficit has gone to 18 hours in the past two weeks which is far too high. I don’t have any really early mornings at work which should help. The biggest problem I have is leaving my must-dos (like the blogs!) until the last moment, and then prioritising them over going to bed. I need to make sure I do my blogs earlier so that I can get to bed on time. I guess now would be a sensible time to add a new habit that ties into that:

  • Work before play

Pretty self explanatory I think. But basically, I want to build the habit of getting my must-dos (blogs, housework, cardmaking etc.) done before my want-to-dos (watching cardmaking videos on YouTube, gaming, and non-essential cardmaking… etc.) I wasn’t actually planning on adding this habit yet, but as I was writing out about the bedtimes it just seemd to make sense to add it. So here we go!

I do have another habit I want to add now:

  • Brush Lola’s teeth

Lola went to the vet to have her teeth cleaned on Friday. She has always had problems with her teeth – she was born with a few missing, has had a few more removed, and her teeth just generally have a tendency to get bad quicker than the average cat. There was a time that I was brushing her teeth regularly but for one reason and another I fell out of the habit. Today we went and bought some new cat-safe toothpaste and I even managed to give her teeth a brush. I want to get back into the habit of daily teeth cleaning for her in the hopes it will stave off the need for any further teeth removal, and at least increase the times between professional cleanings. It only takes a couple of minutes, so hopefully it won’t be too difficult to do.

I think that’s enough to be getting on with!

Love,

Lady Joyful

2 thoughts on “A Year of Motivation – Round-Up: Week 2 2017

Leave a Reply

