Motivember 2016 – Summing Up

motivemberheader

Motivember has ended again. Actually it ended several days ago, but now I actually have time to sum up. So here goes!

The Challenges:

NaNoWriMo

 

Well if you’ve been following along during Motivember you’ll already know that this was an unmitigated disaster. I didn’t even try. Then again, given how busy I’ve been it was probably unrealistically optimistic of me to think I would have time to do anything towards NaNoWriMo. I don’t feel too awful about the fact that I didn’t manage to get any done. I do hope I’ll do better next year though.

NaBloPoMo

nablopomo_badge_2016

Whilst NaNoWriMo proved impossible NaBloPoMo was ridiculously easy. I almost feel like it was unfair of me to consider this as a challenge because I’ve been pretty much doing it for the whole year. I don’t think there’s been a single day in 2016 that I’ve missed posting at least something. It’s definitely a habit now. That makes me happy. And it made this challenge a walk in the park!

 

 

30 Day Colouring Challenge

challenge_graphic-nov16_16x24

This challenge was a bit hit and miss. I didn’t get the colouring page finished that I was working on. You may remember that I didn’t really get started on colouring until the beginning of the second week. After that I did work on colouring most if not every day. Taking my colouring book and pencils to work with me definitely helped out with that. I also worked on colouring for cards from time to time in my evenings or during the weekends. I wasn’t consistently succeeding but close enough.

I didn’t actually officially play along with this challenge, as in I didn’t link up any of my colouring to the actual challenge site. I may do that the next time the challenge is going on. It was nice to take part, regardless.

Other Goals

Boxes Begone! – We have worked on the unpacking somewhat over the course of the month but there is still plenty to do. And when I say plenty my mind is really thinking “far too much”! We’ll get there eventually, but it was certainly optimistic to think that we’d get it all done over the course of this month.

Take time out – This one has been up and down. Some days I do perhaps too well and end up leaving what needs to be done until the last minute as a result. Other days I’m so busy getting things done that I forget to take a moment for myself. I need to work on finding a balance.

The Conclusion:

This year’s Motivember has definitely been a mixed bag. It got off to a shaky start as I was ill at the beginning of the month, but I feel I did a pretty good job of turning things around after that. Long days at work certainly impacted my ability to complete all the challenges I set myself and I think it’s important that I remind myself of that. I shouldn’t blame myself for not having enough hours in the day to get everything done. Sometimes that’s just the way things are.

Actually over the last couple of days I’ve been thinking about these check-in posts I do during Motivember… I really like it and feel that it gives me a bit more accountability. I’m considering doing so that in the New Year I will set myself challenges from time to time – some may be lasting only a week, other to last for a month, or even longer – and that I would each Sunday write a post to check in on how I’m doing, how I could improve, what challenges will be added and removed. It wouldn’t be quite as extreme as Motivember but the idea is that it would give me a bit extra motivation and accountability. Let’s see if anything comes of it.

Love,

Lady Joyful

2 thoughts on “Motivember 2016 – Summing Up

Leave a Reply

