Thought-Of-The-Day: December 2nd

The things children say…

Yesterday whilst I was at the park with the boys a young girl, perhaps about nine or ten years old, approached and asked me what language I was speaking. When I explained it was English she wanted to know why. I told her that the boys parents’ hired me to teach them English.

She was temporarily sidetracked by that, wondering at the fact that the boys aren’t my children. She quickly got back on topic though, telling me I shouldn’t teach the boys English. I asked her why not, and she said because they should learn Finnish. I countered by explaining that they are learning Finnish too. She initially refused to believe me until I explained that their parents speak Finnish with them, which is how they are learning to understand both languages.

That mollified her. Happy with her answers she started to leave, but not before adding one last thing to the conversation… She told me I should let the boys’ parents know that there are daycares nearby, and they don’t have to hire me to look after the boys.

I guess she doesn’t see the need for my job..?!

After she left I realised I’d managed a whole conversation in Finnish. I was pretty pleased with myself!

Love,

Lady Joyful

One thought on “Thought-Of-The-Day: December 2nd

Leave a Reply

