Introduction to Motivember 2016

motivemberheader

It’s November and that means Motivember! For those of you who haven’t joined me in previous years, Motivember is basically when I challenge myself to a whole bunch of different things to do over the course of the month. Each year I have a couple of official challenges I join in with (and this year there is a new one!) and also set myself some goals too.

So without further ado, I shall introduce the challenges I am going to be participating in.

The Challenges:

NaNoWriMo

NaNoWriMo, or National Novel Writing Month, is a challenge in which participants are asked to write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days. That works out at roughly 1,667 words a day.

This will be my sixth year participating in NaNoWriMo. I have, however, only met the target once in that time which was back in 2013. Hopefully this year will be my second win!

 

NaBloPoMo

nablopomo_badge_2016

The second challenge is National Blog Posting Month, also called NaBloPoMo. The idea is pretty simple – write a blog post every day throughout November.

I first came across NaBloPoMo in 2012. It was a really good motivator for me to return to my neglected blog. I’ve participated every year with reasonable success, though my blogging always seemed to die out again fairly quickly after it ended. This year I expect it to be pretty easy, given I’ve pretty much been doing it all year!

 

30 Day Colouring Challenge

challenge_graphic-nov16_16x24

This is another “do it every day for a month” challenge, this time with colouring. The requirements are quite forgiving – any colouring counts. It doesn’t have to be a full picture as long as some time is spent on colouring each day.

This is a new one to me! I came across the hostess via YouTube where I watch a lot of cardmaking and craft videos, seeing as that’s become a big hobby for me this year. I think this one will be a lot of fun.

Other Goals

Boxes Begone! – We moved a little over a month ago and still have boxes everywhere. Here I am setting myself the goal of getting an average of one box sorted per day for the whole month.

To Be Confirmed – Other goals may be added later!

The Outlook:

I’ll be honest, this is going to be tough. I’m starting with a disadvantage because I’ve been pretty much bed-bound with an illness for the last few days which meant I wasn’t able to do any of the preparation work I’d been planning. It’s also left me a day behind on NaNoWriMo as of day 1, and I have not yet been able to work on any colouring.

As if starting behind isn’t bad enough, I also know that (once I’m healthy enough to go back to work…) I’m going to be needed for some longer days at work this month. I’ve been having a hard time finding time for everything I want to do around my work hours as it is. So yes, these challenges will be challenging!

I think the key to success will be proper planning and making the most of the time I have. Using my break times to work on my blogs or colouring will simplify evenings. The weekends will be key, particularly for NaNoWriMo.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Are you doing Motivember this year? Taking part in NaNoWriMo or NaBloPoMo? Leave a comment below to tell us all about your goals!

3 thoughts on “Introduction to Motivember 2016

Leave a Reply

