Thought-Of-The-Day: October 6th

Once in a while I have to remind myself that I enjoy my job.

Not too often though. Most of the time I don’t need reminding because I am actively enjoying it. Today was one of the once in a while days though.

For those of you who don’t know, I work as a nanny to a pair of one year old boys. They are not twins – they’re from two different families, but good friends and very close in age (a matter of days between them).

My work days, as you can no doubt imagine, involve trips to the park, music, playing games, reading, changing nappies, feeding, and naptime.

That last one was the problem today.

We have a fairly reliable schedule. It’s good for the boys to have that structure, and it helps me out too. Lunch time is about 11, after lunch the boys go to use their potties, and then it is naptime. Depending how long lunch and potty take the start of naptime can vary by a few minutes, but I usually start to get them to sleep at about quarter to twelve. The boys sit in the double buggy as I push it back and forwards in the bedroom, and they are usually asleep within 15 minutes to half an hour. Before today the longest it took me was just over an hour.

Today… Well, today nap time didn’t happen.

Three hours. Three. Three whole hours… That’s how long I spent trying to get the boys to sleep today. At half past one, when the stress was driving me crazy, I decided to try taking the buggy outside and walking with them until they fell asleep. At half past two I went back inside exhausted.

Every time one of them would start to fall asleep the other would wake up. They were both clearly very tired, but they would not fall asleep.

It was exhausting and stressful. And I am incredibly thankful that my days are not usually like that, because otherwise I might have to be committed!

I do love my job, truly. Days like today though are a bit trying…

Love,

Lady Joyful

Leave a Reply

