Thought-Of-The-Day: September 22nd

It’s a bug’s life.

I’m really not keen on creepy crawlies. Funnily enough they creep me out. Even so, I try to avoid killing them.

Husband has long since learned that if I beg him to “get rid of” whatever horrible critter has found its way into our apartment, I do not want it murdered. I want it put outside where it belongs.

He thinks I’m weird for that.

Spiders are the worst. And yet, today I rescued a spider.

I first spotted it on the floor at work. It looked distinctly crispy so I picked it up with a tissue and put it in the bin. The next time I looked in the bin it was moving around… Yuck…

I figured it would find its own way back out, and tried not to worry about it as I wasn’t sure how best to extract it anyway. A couple of hours later I spotted it again as I was emptying the remains of the boys’ snack into the bin. The spider narrowly avoided drowning in yogurt…

Deciding that the spider clearly needed a helping hand, I found a very long handled spoon and persuaded the spider to get onto it. I then hurried with my spoonful of spider to the balcony, telling the spider to stay on the spoon the whole time. Of course once I got to the balcony I switched to telling it to get off the spoon.

It’s not the first time the boys have seen me rescuing creepy crawlies. Once walking home from the park we saw a large beetle that was flipped onto its back and having trouble turning. I used a sturdy leaf to help roll it over whilst the boys watched in fascination. I had to do the same with another beetle yesterday morning, actually, when I was working to work from the metro.

Just because I don’t like them doesn’t mean they don’t deserve to live.

Love,

Lady Joyful

One thought on “Thought-Of-The-Day: September 22nd

  1. When I turn a beetle over I just pick it up and turn it over, or put it in a nearby hedge so nobody treads on it. Why the leaf? :p

Leave a Reply

