A Slippery Slope

We finally took our bikes to get winter tyres today. Pretty good timing really, because the ground has been distinctly snowy today in a not-going-away-until-Spring kind of way. Although of course Sod’s law (or Murphy’s, if you prefer) being what it is, it’ll probably be melted by the time we collect them tomorrow and we’ll have a hefty bill for no reason.

Okay, yes there’s a reason, they will be useful later in the winter in any case. But I’m sure you know what I mean.

We went to the bike place straight after I finished work today. We didn’t have an awful lot of time between me finishing and the bike place closing so we were in a bit of a hurry. Husband was using the GPS on his phone to help us find our way, because we weren’t familiar with the route.

As we were cycling I was telling husband about how glad I was that I hadn’t slipped over at all when cycling to my first job (or between that and the second) today. There had been one moment that had been a bit slippery and I thought I was going to fall, but luckily I managed to regain control of the bike.

The discussion paused as husband checked directions. “Turn right at the end of the road.” Okay, no problem. Let’s keep going down this hill then, and turn right at the bottom… Huh, that looks awfully like a cycle path to our right, should we in fact be turning there? “Oh, wait!” says husband.

Can you guess what happened next? Yeah…

I tried to slow down my bike to wait as requested. Slowing down on an icy hill is not easy, I’ll have you know. My gentle touch on the brake caused my back wheel to spin out, and despite my best efforts to prevent it, well…

Husband stopped much more gracefully to come and help untangle me from my bike. Luckily I wasn’t badly hurt. I have a nasty bruise coming up on my left thigh now from where the end of the handlebar slammed into it. My left elbow has a bruise coming up because it was the first thing to hit the ground.

My right thumb and wrist was the main pain I noticed, and I couldn’t even work out what happened with that. I think as the handlebars came down they slammed back into the hand as it was holding them, if that makes sense. Again I don’t think the damage is particularly bad, but we’ll see how it is tomorrow. I’m having to be careful with it – usually when I reposition myself in my computer chair I will push up with my arms/hands, and doing that at the moment is pretty painful.

Oh and my bike… Well, it survived the… event. The basket got dented and also appears to be a bit loose like it got knocked out of place. We didn’t really get a good look because we had to get to the bike place, and then we had to leave the bikes there. We’ll pick them up tomorrow.

I think I would definitely say I’m glad that we are getting the winter tyres. I’d rather not have any more accidents!

Love,

Lady Joyful

8 thoughts on “A Slippery Slope

  1. Pingback: Week 3 – Motivember 2015 | The Joyful Soul

  2. Pingback: Snowball Farms | The Joyful Soul

  3. I’m glad you weren’t hurt worse! And here’s a gentle scolding: don’t apologize for short posts (with beautiful pictures!)–celebrate the fact that you’re keeping up with the posting at all! Great job!

    I hope the bruises and aches and pains heal quickly. ❤

Leave a Reply

