Welcome to Motivember 2015

Source

It’s November again, and that can only mean one thing. It’s time to Write All The Things!

November is the month of NaNoWriMo and NaBloPoMo, and this year I will again be participating in both. In fact, November for me has in the past few years turned into Motivember – the month in which I set myself a myriad of goals to achieve. It’s always great fun.

NaNoWriMo

For those that don’t know, NaNoWriMo – National Novel Writing Month – is a pretty big deal. The idea behind it is to write a novel – 50 thousand words – in a month. That’s approximately 1666 words per day. There is an emphasis on quantity over quality. What gets written in November is intended to be simply a first draft. It’s an opportunity to get the words, the story, out of the mind and on to paper (or, you know, the screen). Polishing will come later.

This is my 5th year doing NaNoWriMo. I have only successfully completed the month on one occasion. That was back in 2013. What was special about 2013? Well, the story I wrote that year was one that had been developing in my mind for many years. I also spent several weeks in the summer working on plans for the story. All the other years that I’ve done NaNoWriMo my approach has been a bit more fly by the seat of my pants, as they say.

Clearly planning is a benefit which is why this year I have… not planned at all. Whoops? That’s alright though. I have an idea and I’m feeling pretty determined. I can try, right?

It’s day one and I’m already about 500 words ahead of schedule. That’s a pretty good start, if you ask me.

NaBloPoMo

NaBloPoMo also involves writing every day. Only this time it is writing blog posts. I’ve not been doing NaBloPoMo quite as long as I have been doing NaNoWriMo, but it’s still become a regular part of my year. Of the three previous years that I’ve participated I only succeeded in writing every day once. Coincidentally it was the same year that I was successful at NaNoWriMo.

I’ve never planned my posts for NaBloPoMo. Can you see a pattern here? Apparently I’m not much of a planner. I realise I would most likely benefit from doing so, but it seems I lack the patience.

In any case, day one I have one post done. You’re reading it after all. Another good start.

Other Goals

This year’s Motivember is actually a bit different. It’s the first time that I will be working full-time alongside all my other goals. Previous years I may have been studying, but never working full-time. I think that’ll add a whole new aspect to the challenges of the month.

Readers who have followed along for previous Motivembers will know that I often add in new challenges as the month goes on. For now I have only a couple of extra goals.

The first extra goal is Wide Awake. The aim of this goal is simple – to actually get up properly in the morning! I’m terrible at getting up. The snooze button is my favourite thing about alarms, and I have a bad habit of continuing to use said button until I absolutely have to get up. It doesn’t help that the light levels in my part of the world are rapidly dropping… Anyway. Goal Wide Awake is a go.

The other extra goal is Light Up. For this goal I need to make sure I use my newly acquired light therapy light every day. One of my biggest struggles through previous Motivembers has been lack of motivation resulting from SAD. Light therapy is a recommended treatment for SAD, so I figure I should give it a go!

That’s all for now!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Are you doing Motivember this year? Taking part in NaNoWriMo or NaBloPoMo? Leave a comment below to tell us all about your goals!

10 thoughts on “Welcome to Motivember 2015

  1. Pingback: Thought-Of-The-Day: October 26th – The Joyful Soul

  2. Pingback: Week 2 – Motivember 2015 | The Joyful Soul

  3. Pingback: Week 1 – Motivember 2015 | The Joyful Soul

  4. Wow! I am learning so many things through blogging. Won’t be participating in any of these this year but there’s always next year. by the way, I use light therapy and I find using my lamp every morning really helps.

Leave a Reply

