Promises

The prompt for today’s contribution to the drabble challenge is:


Unbreakable

“You promised.”

I hate him. How could he put me through this? Yes, to save the boy’s soul. But who will save mine?

Speaking of the boy… What recklessness led him to this devil’s barter? Foolish, given his father’s fate.

“You made a vow.”

Yes, to his mother. She bears blame. Family! If everyone would stop caring about families and love

Oh, sweet hypocrisy. It is the love I feel, too, that has brought me here.

Love, and a promise.

“Severus… Please…”

The green light strikes before I know what I’ve done. It’s over. And yet, it’s only just begun.


Yup, that’s right. Today’s drabble is Fanfiction. Hope you don’t mind. All I could think of when I read the word “unbreakable” was the unbreakable vow, so this is what you ended up with.

This drabble took a whole lot of editing to get down to 100 words. I knew as I was writing it that it was too long, but I had to let it run its course. It got to about 135, then I pared it back to 97 and had to add a few back in.

Actually this was quite fun to write. It’s been a while since I’ve worked on my Fanfiction WIP. Maybe I’ll get back to it at some point… I’ll probably get my novel finished first though. Which, incidentally, I worked on today. Not a lot – just an extra 300 words – but it’s a start.

Starting is important.

Love,

Lady Joyful

One thought on “Promises

  1. Pingback: Don’t Make Me Choose | The Joyful Soul

Leave a Reply

