Coquettish Contention

Today’s drabble challenge prompt is:


Rivalry

“Look at him!”

Clare turned at Alice’s voice to see a handsome young man enter the room.

“Ooh, yummy.”  She said. “Do you think he’d go out with me?”

“What?” Alice stared. “I saw him first!”

“Aren’t you with… Whatshisname… Gordon?”

“Gregory. I dumped him.” Alice flicked her blond hair. “I bet he’s not so boring.”

“I’ll let you know.”

Alice glared, though it turned quickly to a smile as the stranger neared.

“Excuse me,” she called, “I was wondering if you’d like to go out with –”

“Me!” Clare interrupted.

“Sorry.” The stranger looked bemused.  “I’m meeting my boyfriend.”


I struggled with this one a bit. I just could not get inspired, couldn’t think of anything interesting to do with it… Although it was the first time that my initial draft ended up almost exactly at the required word count. The first draft was 102, and I immediately knew what to cut to fix it. I did tweak some of the wording a bit further too though.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Leave a Reply

