The Debut

You're Doing What?

As you can see, Lola is not impressed with my ideas for the blog!

As I recently discussed I’m currently considering where I want to go with this blog. As a result we are now entering an experimental phase – are you excited?! Part of my hope for the blog is to use it more to hone and showcase my writing.

I’m taking part of a challenge on Habit RPG to write drabbles. The challenge is to write at least 10 drabbles a month, with each drabble being at least 100 words (excluding the title) and consisting of a complete story or idea.

The creator of the challenge, who goes by LilyC, provided an optional, and extensive, prompt list. And I was inspired.

The inspiration, and my hopes for this blog, have brought me to a decision. For the rest of the year I am going to write and post one drabble every day. Each one will be based on a prompt from the list.

Now this doesn’t mean that the cat stories and nonsensical ramblings will stop. I’ll keep posting those too. As a result you will on some days in fact be getting two, yes two!, blog posts. Hopefully you don’t feel overloaded with them… It’s an experimental phase, like I said, so we’ll see how it goes.

Anyway, without further ado, here is my first attempt at writing for the drabble challenge. The prompt, which is also the drabble’s title, is:


Introduction

“I’m Alex.” He had a broad Yorkshire accent and a smiling face.

“Jennifer.” She replied, shaking the offered hand. She glanced around. “I guess Medieval history isn’t very popular.”

Professor Hodgins entered before he could reply. She presented herself and the course, and asked the students to introduce themselves.

“Brody.” Said Alex with an American twang. Jennifer stared. He winked back.

“Who are you, really?” She asked when class ended an hour later.

“Hey, Charles!” He turned to the caller and waved.

Bidding Jennifer farewell in unaccented Queen’s English, he went to join his friend, leaving her bewildered behind him.


I’m not completely happy with it, but hey… It’s just the beginning!

Love,

Lady Joyful

One thought on “The Debut

  1. Pingback: The Mountain | The Joyful Soul

Leave a Reply

