Am I A Writer?

Lola Tries to WriteMy apologies, but I am going to have to interrupt the regularly scheduled Year of Cats blog streak to talk about a passion of mine. Something I adore. Something I love – writing.

You may have noticed that, if you’ve read this blog at all. Although lately you may not have noticed much other than the fact that I have cats! But I digress. I’ve written about my love of writing before, on more than one occasion, but I am feeling inspired to do so again, so I hope you’ll bear with me on that.

At the moment I am studying a Finnish writing course. It is aimed at people like me who want to be able to write better in Finnish. People who are not native speakers. The project for the course is to write a blog. Blogging is, of course, something I am familiar with. I’ve been doing it everyday so far this year, and on-and-off for the almost three years now. Blogging in Finnish is a new challenge.

I have been deemed one of the class expert’s on blogging, due to my, uh, extensive experience. Well, I guess I do know more or less what I am doing… right?

I have also been complimented on my writing style. Yay! I’ll let you in on a secret – compliments make me happy, people. Especially when they are compliments on my writing. Especially-especially when they are compliments on my writing that is in not-my-native-language and which also indirectly compliments my writing in is-my-native-language.

I write for fun. I blog for fun. I do it because it is what I enjoy, what I want to do. I’m not making any money out of my writing. Not currently, at least. Perhaps when I get my novel finished (currently at 60,000 words) I may be able to get it published and make a little money…

But really, I write for me. Having people enjoy my writing, and tell me as much, is really just a bonus. A very, very good bonus which may or may not make me want to bounce around squeeing like some sort of rabid fangirl. Okay, I’m exaggerating. But it does make me feel good. I still remember how fantastic it felt when a short story I wrote got Freshly Pressed. And watching my stats page as the blue bars rose higher and higher in the following days… What a feeling.

Am I a writer? I don’t know. I write, sure. But so do many people. I write for fun rather than necessity, but I’m sure there are still many people who do that without considering themselves to be writers. Do I need to be making money from my writing to be a true writer? Do I need to attain a regular, dedicated readership of a certain size?

I don’t know the answer.

But I do know one thing. Writing is my passion. It is what I do. Maybe I am not yet able to call myself a writer. But one day…

Love,

Lady Joyful

6 thoughts on “Am I A Writer?

  1. Pingback: Starting Point | The Joyful Soul

  2. Pingback: Just A Dream | The Joyful Soul

  3. Pingback: Happy Blogiversary To Us! | The Joyful Soul

Leave a Reply

