NaBloPoMo: Week Four

NaBloPoMo 2014With the final week of NaBloPoMo wrapping up it is time to reflect on how the last week of challenges has been. So without further ado, let’s get to it!

I have indeed succeeded at a post every day this week. Almost every one of them was a cat-based picture post, but a post nonetheless. In fact judging by the viewing statistics it seems that such posts are relatively crowd pleasing.

My sub-goal of becoming freshly pressed has not been achieved, but I didn’t really expect it to happen. I haven’t written anything worthy of it. I really need to concentrate on getting ahead with the blog rather than leaving posts to be rushed in the last moments of the day. I have a few ideas for proceeding with the blog, but we’ll see what happens with it all.

As a whole this month, NaNoWriMo has been an unmitigated disaster. I would say that this week has been no different, but in actual fact when I think about it some more I’ve actually written more this week than in any other week of the challenge. Yesterday I was a smidgen below the daily goal, and today I exceeded it. Nonetheless it is impossible for me to win this year, unless I somehow manage to write 40,000 odd words in the next hour. Believe me, that’s not going to happen.

I do plan to get back to writing more often, however. Who knows how well it will work out… I’m going to avoid setting myself a particular word or time goal per day, simply aim to at least spend a little time on some sort of writing project, be it the Fanfiction I was working on for this NaNoWriMo, or finishing up last year’s project.

  • Exercise

This is improving. There were only two days this week that I didn’t get out, and one of them I was in my pyjamas the whole day so… There are a lot of days each week that I “have” to go out. I have classes in the evenings Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday, and we spend Sundays at S’s parents’ place. My Tuesday class will be finishing this coming week, but there is a possibility of something else starting soon that would get me out of the flat on Tuesdays and Thursdays, which would mean I only have to motivate myself Friday and Saturday. Admittedly my interest in going outside seems to go down with the temperature…

  • Sleep

This is a hard one for me, I admit. I think I failed almost every day this week, today being the only exception. This morning I snoozed my alarm (as I have been doing every morning) but decided to get up only a few seconds after doing so anyway. I’m going to keep working at it and will see how it goes. I expect it will get easier once I get into the swing of things, but finding that motivation is the key.

  • Job

I’ve applied to a couple of other things recently. One in particular seems promising. I won’t say anything else because I don’t want to jinx it, but I expect to know for certain in the next few days, possibly even tomorrow!

  • Organisation

Housework is kind of on track. Tidying is not. Sometimes I forget what colour our kitchen table is because there is so much junk all over it. I love it when it is clear and clean of everything, but that happens once in a blue moon and lasts for all of ten seconds. I need to put more effort into this.

Haven’t made any more progress on the scarf that I’ve been knitting, but I did put a lot of work into getting our price book done. And then we ran out of pages, so we need to find and buy some more so that I can get it finished up and we can properly make use of the thing.

We did get the Christmas cards ordered so hopefully they will arrive soon enough to send and still get to the recipients on time. Most of our Christmas shopping is done, just need to buy a couple more things and then we can get those packed up and sent to England. Again, hopefully they get there on time…


 

Overall… Well I’m relatively happy. Sure there have been a lot of misses but given the way things have been lately I think any successes need to be celebrated. So I’m content.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Any suggestions for themes/challenges for December?

Leave a Reply

