NaBloPoMo: Happy Holidays

NaBloPoMo 2014

This post is written based on BlogHer‘s prompt for today: “Where is the one place you would never want to go on vacation that other people seem to love?”


 

As I understand it, people my age enjoy going out clubbing. Getting drunk, being loud, and being in a crowded place with sweaty strangers is apparently all the rage. That’s really not for me.

From what I understand Ibiza is The Way To Go. For all the sweaty strangers, STDs, hangovers and monotonous music your heart could desire. Well, to each his own.

I can’t imagine any reason I would go to Ibiza. I’m an introvert. I’d rather stay home and read a good book, or watch a good film, than go out clubbing. If I’m honest I’d rather stay home and read an awful book, or watch paint dry…

I don’t like crowds. They make me anxious. Being in a crowded place with a load of boisterous strangers who have had their inhibitions loosened by alcohol… No thanks. That sounds like my idea of a nightmare.

Speaking of alcohol, I don’t drink. I’m not exactly teetotal, but I generally chose not to drink. S is the same. I think the last time I had alcohol was last Christmas, but it might have been the one before. Neither of us drank alcohol at our wedding, though plenty of other people did!

So really… If I don’t like alcohol or crowds, don’t like going out clubbing, don’t want to hook up with random strangers (even if I was single), I’m not sure what Ibiza has to offer me.

Beaches? Lots of place have beaches. Beach holidays can be fun, but I’d rather do something more engaging. There are beaches here in Finland, or in England if I happen to visit my home country. If I’m paying to fly somewhere I’d like to spend at least some of my time looking at the culture, seeing what the country has to offer. Sure, one or two days relaxing on the beach is fine, but I’d like to do other stuff too.

According to Lonely Planet there are other things to do in Ibiza than clubbing (who knew?), but really that’s why most people go there. About half of the best things to do, according to Lonely Planet, are clubs or similar things, whilst another quarter are scooter tours.

I’m sure Ibiza is a great place to visit for some people. Based on the number of people who go there, at least. But whilst other people love it, it’s really not for me. And that’s okay. The world would be a boring place if everyone liked the same things.

Love,

Lady Joyful

Is Ibiza your kind of holiday? Why, or why not? Is there somewhere you would never want to go but others love, or vice versa?

Leave a Reply

