NaBloPoMo: Here We Go Again

NaBloPoMo 2014

It’s that time of year again! November is our busiest month here at The Joyful Soul. For us it is Motivember. The month when I write, blog and challenge myself to all sorts of things.

Back in 2012 I took part in NaNoWriMo for the second time, and NaBloPoMo for the first time. I had great fun. I didn’t win NaNoWriMo but I did fairly well with NaBloPoMo with posts for 24 out of 30 days, and I even got Freshly Pressed! I didn’t officially call it Motivember back then, but I think that’s when the ideas began to form.

The name was earned last year when I decided to make November even more challenging. I set myself several different challenges to do alongside NaBloPoMo and NaNoWriMo. I was amazed at how well it all went. I succeeded at NaBloPoMo with a post every day for the whole month. I won NaNoWriMo, achieving the 50,000 words with the help of a couple of 10,000 word marathon sessions. I cut down my chocolate consumption significantly and did a good job of exercising. And we also reduced our electricity usage.

But enough of the recapping. The point of today’s post is to see what will be happening for this year’s Motivember. There will be some repeat offenders, and a couple of new items too.

Challenges for Motivember

NaBloPoMo

This goal is pretty self-explanatory but I’ll say a little something about it anyway. The goal will be considered achieved if I post a blog every day throughout the month. Ideally I want them all to be posts with some thought and consideration put into them, but so long as I post something it counts. Even if it’s just a cat picture.

Bonus goal – Get Freshly Pressed.

NaNoWriMo

Again fairly self-explanatory. My aim is to reach the 50,000 words by the end of the month. My hope is to manage this with good pacing, ideally without resorting to crazy marathon writing sessions, as fun as they were. I’m not sure this year will be as successful as last year as I haven’t done as much planning. To make it slightly easier on myself I am not writing an original novel this year. Instead I am working on a Fanfiction that I partially planned out many (six? seven?) years ago. Fanfiction is allowed, and I know the fandom well enough that it should make up for my lack of planning. In theory.

Bonus goal – Finish writing last year’s contribution. Even though I reached the word goal the novel itself was not finished. I want to get it finished and start working on the editing process with a view to hopefully getting it published early next year.

Exercise

Last year I set myself an exercise challenge for Motivember. I’m doing it again this year. I came across a free Kindle book which is some kind of 30-day exercise challenge so I will give that a go. I reserve the right to change this goal slightly if the book ends up being rubbish.

Bonus goal – Fresh air! Get outside every day, no matter how cold, wet or dark it may be.

Sleep

I used to have a fairly good sleep pattern. Not any more. Lately I’ve found it very difficult to get up in the mornings. I am getting plenty of sleep (too much, in fact) so that’s not the problem. My goal is to get out of bed on time for the whole month. I’m going to take it in steps. As it’s currently a weekend I’m going to get started by just making sure I am up before nine, which shouldn’t be too difficult. Then I will move it to before 8 for the next week, and progress from there.

Bonus goal – Go to bed on time. I have an app on my phone that monitors my sleep and is able to tell me when I should go to bed based on when I want to get up and how much sleep I need. It calculates the amount of sleep I need based on how I rate my sleep satisfaction. I don’t think I explained that very well…

Job

I want, and need, to find employment. I do have something in the pipeline that, if it works out, will be very promising, but until I have a definite answer about that I aim to keep looking for and applying to jobs. My goal is to check daily for jobs, and to apply to any possibilities the same day that I find them. If the application is a bit more complicated, for example if I need to do research for it, then I am allowed to extend that to within a week.

Bonus goal – Get hired. In a way this isn’t up to me, but I’ll do my best!

Organisation

This final goal is a bit of a catch-all. Basically I am aiming to get caught up on all the things I’m behind on. I have a MOOC I’m doing that I need to catch up on. I want to make sure I get all my Finnish homework done in a timely manner. I want to get back into the habit of doing all the housework on the day it is meant to be done, and I want to sort through the clutter and get our home tidier. I also have various miscellaneous tasks that I’ve been meaning to work on. So the goal here has several parts –

  1. Ensure all calendar tasks (chores) are done the day the calendar says
  2. Do a little MOOC work every day
  3. Do Finnish homework the day it is set, or the following day
  4. Tidy one small area each day
  5. Do one thing towards a miscellaneous task each day

That’s the list of goals as it stands at the moment. I wanted to add some sort of financial challenge as I did last year but to be honest there’s very little I can challenge ourselves to do because our finances are already so tight. I will have to think about this some more.

It is entirely possible that I will add, edit or refine challenges as the month goes on. I am open to suggestions. Comment below if you have any!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Are you doing any challenges for Motivember?

One thought on “NaBloPoMo: Here We Go Again

  1. Pingback: NaBloPoMo: Week One | The Joyful Soul

Leave a Reply

