The Notes That You Speak

Today’s post is inspired by a combination of a prompt from Blogging 101 and another prompt from Writing 101. The former is to write to a post designed for your ideal reader, with the twist of including a new element; something that you’ve not previously used when blogging. The second is to write for 15 minutes about the three most important songs in your life. I have combined the prompts and adjusted them to my liking, and will be writing for slightly longer [ETA: perhaps a lot longer, I forgot to start the timer… Then again it could be shorter because I got distracted by choosing what songs to mention] but talking mainly about one song, for which I have embedded a video – something I’ve not done before.


Music has always been important to me. I love listening to music. Almost everyone has times when their mood influences what they choose to listen to, but I’ve found that what I listen to can also have profound effects on my mood, making me happy or sad, excited or thoughtful.

As a child I remember I would always, always ask to listen to music whilst we were driving anywhere. Loud, please. I like to feel the music in my bones. If we couldn’t listen to it through the car radio I would listen on my portable tape player, which later changed to a portable CD player, and then to an iPod – first my brother’s, and then my own. At home, too, I liked to have music to listen to. My dad has a truly vast CD collection, and sometimes he would set some music to play (loudly, of course) through the amplifier in the living room.

I had a hi-fi in my room, too. I would do my homework up there, lying on the floor with my books and listening to whatever music took my fancy at the time. I would shut the door in an attempt to limit the disturbance to the rest of the house. I’m not sure it made much difference, but I’m sure they appreciated the effort.

My taste in music is somewhat eclectic. My iTunes library contains several thousand of songs, from ABC to Jewel, Fallulah to Savage Garden, Diary of Dreams to Imogen Heap… I could go on, but I won’t.

Early on in our relationship S and I had that conversation. You know the one – when you see if you have similar musical tastes. The conversation didn’t get off to a good start.

“I like pretty much anything. Well, except rap and hip-hop, I’m not so into that.”

“I like rap and hip-hop…”

Ah. I wasn’t so shallow as to think this was going to be the end of our relationship, and obviously it wasn’t considering we’re now married. But it didn’t seem very fortuitous. Luckily I’m a pretty open-minded person and was perfectly happy for him to try and change my opinion. And honestly, on his first attempt he got me.

Perhaps I should start by explaining my bias. A lot of the rap and hip-hop I didn’t like back then is the same rap and hip-hop that I don’t like now. For fear of sounding like a hipster, it was the mainstream, pop-ish rap and hip-hop that I wasn’t into, and because I’d had little experience of the “other” kind I just assumed that I didn’t like any of it, and didn’t really go out of my way to see if that was a true assumption.

The song that S used to persuade me was Ashes to Ashley – Sadistik ft. Mac Lethal. It surprised me. It wasn’t the kind of music I thought of when thinking of the genre. It was… different, unexpected. I don’t know whether he did it on purpose or not, but what S had succeeded in doing was finding a song which overlapped with the kind of music I was particularly into at the time. It acted as a stepping stone, an introduction to the music he listens to.

I love this song now. It resonates with me. It reminds me of the early days of our relationship, when he first came to visit me in Bath and we were getting to know each other. I would consider it to be “our song”. It may not be the sappy love song that most couple’s have as their songs, but it has meaning to us. And that’s the important part.

Love,

Lady Joyful

What kind of music do you listen to? What’s your favourite and least favourite? Have you ever explored your music biases?

2 thoughts on “The Notes That You Speak

  1. What gets me about most rap is that it is performed with faux street American accents. Why is that? When creative it can be very good but most is complete shit. Delivering poetry as a chant (that’s what I see it as) cannot disguise poorly chosen words!

    Sadistik are of course the real thing, but not The Real Thing……..

    Unfortunately most of my CDs did not find their way here.

    • The faux American accent thing is definitely something that I don’t like. Maybe it somehow developed from people trying to mimic the style from others and somehow equating the accent with that? I don’t know.

      You could perhaps suggest that W brings you some of the CDs when he brings other stuff?

Leave a Reply

