NaBloPoMo: How Far We’ve Come

As I write this, the blog is sitting pretty at exactly five and a half thousand views over its lifetime. In some ways that seems like a huge achievement and in other ways not so much. The Joyful Soul will be turning two in February next year which puts that view count at a pretty low average when stretched to cover all that time. When you consider that about a third of those views come from last year’s NaBloPoMo that makes the rest of the count seem even more feeble.

Admittedly last November was a good month – I had one post Freshly Pressed, and another featured in the WordPress news for summing up NaBloPoMo.

Plus if you average out that number of views after having taken out the months when I was inactive… then the average views per day, or per week, pushes ever higher. If you consider that I’ve published just over 80 posts since starting the blog, the average goes to just short of 70 views per post, which is certainly not bad. I mean, I’m sure I could do better, but it’s certainly not terrible.

We have a reasonable amount of follows, too. In fact I found it weird back in the Summer that our follows were suddenly shooting up despite my posts being, at the time, rather rare to say the least. At the end of NaBloPoMo last year we had just over 50 followers. In August we tipped over 100. That’s when it sped up – 200 follows by mid-October. Exactly one month on from that date and we’re over 300.

My stats show me, quite clearly, that NaBloPoMo is good for my blog. Actually it’s probably more accurate to say that posting daily (or at least regularly) does wonders for the viewing figures. Last year the number of likes my posts had received more than quadrupled in less than a month. And the reason was because I posted more often. It was amazing, it was gratifying, and I wanted to keep it happening. I told myself I would continue to blog every day, to keep it going.

A look at my archive will tell you how well that went.

I guess it’s true what they say about good intentions. Or maybe I just aspire too high. I think if I stick to it I can really get a lot of reward from this blog. I don’t expect it to become famous or super successful or anything like that. But a bit of consistency would be good.

If you’re reading this post and want to help keep me going, I’d love to hear from you below! Just drop me a comment to say hi and I’ll reply as soon as I can. And don’t forget to press follow at the top of the page to keep up with all my posts. Because with your help the next time I write about how far we’ve come, the difference when compared to this post will see absolutely insane!

Love,

Lady Joyful

P.S. I apologise for this being something of a filler-blog. We’ve been a bit busy today – I had class in the morning, came home to work on an assignment, went to sort the wedding photos from the photographer (thanks, if you’re reading!), and then back home to get the assignment finished! It’s already time for me to get to bed (especially as I got very little sleep last night thanks to Sisu!) and I’ve not yet done my NaNoWriMo… I hope that helps you understand the brevity of this post!

2 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo: How Far We’ve Come

Leave a Reply

