NaBloPoMo: Beg The Question

Daily Prompt November 12thInside the Actor’s Studio: On the interview show Inside the Actors’ Studio, host James Lipton asks each of his guests the same ten questions. What are your responses?

I must admit I’ve never heard of this programme, but really not knowing about the show doesn’t mean I can’t answer the questions. And seeing as I have very little time to write this blog post it’s better than nothing, right?!

  • What is your favourite word?

I am a bit of a bibliophile. I love words, they fascinate me. They’re so vividly beautiful. A part of everything. We’re exposed to so many words every day… There are certainly a lot of words I could choose from but I think it’s a toss-up between two. The first is mellifluous and the second is lachrymose.

Mellifluous comes from the Latin mell(i) which means honey, and -fluus meaning flowing. A now rare usage of the word is the more literal – saying that something is flowing with honey, in that it is sweetened. The other use is of something that is smooth and beautiful to hear. Almost like the word itself. Mellifluous. It flows across the tongue, smoothly and with a pleasing sound. It curves beautifully in the mouth.

Lachrymose is a much sadder word. It means tearful or mournful. I think it’s a very emotive word – just hearing it makes me think of a small child with wide eyes brimming with tears. It’s not a happy word but it does have it’s own beauty, in a melancholy way.

If I absolutely had to choose just one word… hm… I think perhaps I would go for mellifluous. It’s just so beautifully musical. But then saying that makes me feel like I’m overlooking poor little lachrymose… Ah well, can’t please everyone.

  • What is your least favourite word?

Oh this is harder. You would think I would know instinctively which word makes me skin crawl but I just cannot for the life of me think of one. Perhaps it traumatises me so much that I’ve blocked it out of my thoughts… But I have to give some sort of answer. The only thing I can think of is the word niche. I have nothing against the word itself. It’s just, there’s a certain way of pronouncing it that really just drives me crazy. Niche just be a nice soft gentle word. It should not be pronounced to rhyme with itch. Honestly, nitch is just… blech.

  • What turns you on creatively, spiritually or emotionally?

Erm… Okay let’s see. A good story, whether that’s in book or film form. I get all emotional at a good book, film or television program. There’s something about nature too. Breathtaking views and beautiful animals. I’d love to go and sit quietly in a forest and write. As long as there aren’t any bugs…

  • What turns you off?

Crowds, noise and strangers. I can’t think when I’m surrounded by people I don’t know. I’m an introvert – a crowded environment is a nightmare to me. If you want to stifle my creativity then shut me in a room with a crowd of people I’ve never met before who all like to talk a lot but want to talk to me rather than each other. Ugh, that sounds hideously awful.

Crucio!

Oh, that wasn’t what you meant? I admit I was tempted to go with Avada Kevadra but I didn’t want anyone to think I like going around AK-ing people with my mind. Although now that I think about it the suggestion that I like torturing people with the pain curse isn’t much better…

As for an actual curse/swear word… Perkele! Ha, that amuses me. It’s a Finnish swear. It’s not something I’ve grown up with and been chastised for using. It just sounds so funny to me. I love it!

  • What sound or noise do you love?

You know when cats are half a sleep and they stretch and make that adorable little noise? That.

  • What sound or noise do you hate?

Fingernails across fabric. Like the fabric that covers the ceiling in cars. Run your fingers across that – it sounds hideous. Or like any kind of weird brushing noise. I remember my mum used to (and probably still does) have a hard bristled brush that she’d use on the stair carpet to get up the cat fur. Oh that noise… It gave me shivers. Still does. I would have to stick my fingers in my ears whilst she was brushing. I was reminded of it the other day when S and I were waiting at a bust stop in town. A street cleaning vehicle went by and had giant circular brushes with which it was sweeping the road as it drove. Horrendous noise. I had to stick my fingers in my ears then too. Everyone probably thought I was crazy…

  • What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?

This is a bit of a difficult question seeing as I don’t have an actual profession as such. If you count my profession as the one I’m studying (nursing) then the answer would be writing. But seeing as I try to do that in my spare time maybe that’s cheating. I always used to want to be an actress. Does that count?

  • What profession would you not like to do?

Oh my, there are so many! Cleaning, that’s for one. I accompanied S to an evening cleaning job he did one time and it was horrible. My boot was leaky so I had a cold, soggy, bleachy foot. It was late in the evening so I was exhausted. Everything was wet and slippery and disgusting… I’m really complain-y. I don’t think I could handle anything that involves a whole lot of dirt. But then I’m studying to be a nurse, and that involves some mess (the nursing, not the studying.) Oh and I just thought of another job I’d like to do even less than that – milking the venom from spiders. Or anything that involves spiders. Spiders are the worst.

  • If Heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the Pearly Gates?

I’m not particularly religious, so heaven isn’t something that I think of very often. If I had any considerations of the afterlife as being anything I would be more inclined to believe in reincarnation, just because I like the idea of it. But that doesn’t answer the question. Well, as corny as it sounds I would want to be told that I could spend eternity with everybody I’d ever loved – including my pets! But eternity is a long time, I can’t help but feel it would get a bit… monotonous.

And that was the last question! Until tomorrow, dear readers.

Love,

Lady Joyful

 

10 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo: Beg The Question

  1. Pingback: NaBloPoMo: Week Two | The Joyful Soul

  2. Considering that Americans take their religions very seriously, and “Inside the Actors’ Studio” must be American, I find the last question rather strange. God is not at the Pearly Gates. You must be let through first by Saint Peter (the keeper of the “keys to the kingdom”).

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Inside the Actor’s Studio | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Inside the Actor’s Studio | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  5. Pingback: What if I answered some questions? | Okay, what if ?

  6. Pingback: Inside the Blogger’s Studio w/ Me | A Short A Day

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: CRACKED ACTOR | Phoenix Flights

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Inside the Actor’s Studio | GG's World

  9. Pingback: Stupid Questions | The Jittery Goat

Leave a Reply

