NaBloPoMo: Just Keep Swimming

Today I’m struggling. We’re not even a week into Motivember, but I’m starting to flag. Yesterday’s blog almost didn’t exist because I was feeling so uninspired. Today’s blog feels like a chore.

I think it’s just a temporary problem. I’m tired. I had a late night last night. Okay that was my own fault – I stayed up to watch the Hobbit Fan Event (and then got sad because I wasn’t able to actually be there). And then I had relatively busy day which included cycling in the rain. That wasn’t fun.

I do have one or two ideas of what to blog about but they seem like too much effort for today…

Motivember won’t work very well without motivation!

And I really, really want a bar of chocolate. It’s only been about 3 days since I last had one. I guess I’m addicted! I’m determined not to give in though. I can wait until Saturday. It’s not that far away. Right? Right.

I guess I have a little motivation after all!

NaNoWriMo has been going pretty well. I’m consistently slightly behind, but only slightly. I think as the days go on and I get more and more into the flow I should be able to catch up. I’m actually feeling quite confident about it. At this point, at least. I’m not sure if I’m going to get much, if anything, written today. It’s already late and, like I said, I’m pretty exhausted. I’ll try to tap out at least a couple of words though.

The exercise goal is going well too. Monday we did our first workout of the month – we’re going to do them Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays so there will be another tomorrow. We also walked into town and back that same day. We could’ve cycled but it was horribly rainy and walking meant we could use an umbrella. It was about 5km round trip. Today I cycled to and from university (it’s actually a polytechnic, not a university but whatever). That was about 8km round trip. I didn’t do any exercise on Saturday, but I don’t think that matters too much. I’m allowed the occasional day off, right?

I think the reason I’ve been struggling with motivation these past couple of days is because of how gloomy its been. Anyone who followed my NaBloPoMo efforts last year will remember me talking about the effects of S.A.D. and it’s days like this that hit me hard. The trees are bare, the sky is grey, it’s been drizzling pretty much non-stop, it’s dark… You get the idea.

But tomorrow is a new day. A new day that I happen to be looking forward to. There’s something exciting coming with it..!

Love,

Lady Joyful

8 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo: Just Keep Swimming

  1. Pingback: NaBloPoMo: Week One | The Joyful Soul

  2. Pingback: NaBloPoMo: Writing Tips | The Joyful Soul

    • It’s not possible, no. The NaNoWriMo writing isn’t done on the site – it’s done on your own computer. It’s basically down to trust that you put in your numbers accurately.
      At the end if you’ve “won” (as in, reached the target) you have to upload your writing (they reccomend you ‘encode’ it by doing find-replace with all the letters and changing them to different letters) and then they’ll count it up and check if you really did win.
      At least I believe that is how it works, I’ve never actually won to know!
      If I “win” this year then my next goal will be to edit it and start hunting for publishers, but seeing as I’m only about 5500 words in it’s a bit early to be thinking about that!

Leave a Reply

