Curry Chickpea Burgers

Curry Chickpea Burger - OpenWhat do you think of when someone says “burger”? Is it thick meaty patties, dripping with grease, encased in the ubiquitous flat white buns with sesame seeds sprinkled on top? Perhaps there’s a limp lettuce leaf, slice of tomato and some plastic-y cheese in there. Maybe some gherkins, a squiggle of ketchup or mayonnaise. Or both.

The burgers in this recipe are not that kind of burger.

That’s not to say I have anything against those kinds of burgers. Well actually the ones I just described don’t sound very interesting. What I mean is, I have nothing against a well-made meaty burger. In fact I rather enjoy them.

But I quite like these, too.

I’ve recently developed an obsession with hunting down e-book bargains (this is relevant, bear with me). Since the middle of August I’ve built my Kindle library from nothing to over 2000 books (I love books!) and I don’t even have a kindle (yet…) I’m not sure the exact amount, but I don’t think I’ve spent more than £10. That’s in total, for all 2000 books. That’s about 0.5p per book. Pretty good going.

A couple of weeks ago I came across this book. It was on offer at the time, and cost me nothing. So I downloaded it and had a look through. Used the handy highlight tool to make a note of which recipes looked interesting (quite a few, so I may post others in future!) And of course this was one of them.

We’re trying to save money at the moment. Post-wedding our funds are a little low. And meat can be pretty darn expensive. So we figured we’d give one of the recipes a try, and this was the lucky first contender!

We did have a few issues with the recipe. Firstly as we don’t have a food processor we used our blender, which was (as always) frustratingly unhelpful. I actually ended up taking the whole lot out of the blender, picking out the chickpeas that were still whole and mushing them through a sieve. Kinda worked…

The recipe also listed some ingredients (oil, rice flour) that were then not mentioned in the instructions. We just chucked them in at the end, but I’ve added them into the instructions below in a way that is hopefully a little more logical.

Upon completion the patties were a bit crumbly. It was difficult to flip them, and one did fall apart. Hence my suggestion in the recipe of adding a little extra liquid in order to help them hold together.

But despite the complications…. We really liked these. I think at first S was expecting them to be like “real” burgers – he was asking if he should have cheese and ketchup with them. I guess you could do that if you really wanted… It’s important to note that these aren’t “real” burgers. They’re not going to suddenly taste like they have half a cow in them. But they are very yummy in their own right.

If you don’t believe me, how about you give them a try and judge for yourself!

Curry Chickpea Burger - ClosedCurry and Chickpea Burgers

Source – adapted from 101 healthy Vegan Burgers Recipes

Servings – makes 4-6 burgers

Ingredients:

Burger buns

2 cups of canned chickpeas, drained (approximately one 400g can. You may wish to reserve some of the liquid. )

3 garlic cloves, minced

2 tbsp. olive oil

1 tsp. ground cumin

1 tsp. curry powder

1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper

1 tbsp. rice flour

2 tbsp. chopped coriander

Salt and pepper to taste

Method:

Put the chickpeas in a food processor with the olive oil and pulse until a paste is formed. If it seems too dry, add some of the reserved liquid (or just water) about a tablespoon at a time until it comes together.

Stir in the garlic, curry powder, cumin, cayenne and rice flour. Add a pinch each of salt and pepper, or to taste, then add the chopped coriander.

With wet hands take spoonfuls of the mixture and shape into burger shape.

Heat a griddle pan over medium heat and cook the burgers for 5-6 minutes on one side. Flip the burgers and cook for a further 5 minutes. They should be golden brown on each side.

Serve the burgers in your burger buns with the trimmings of your choice.

Curry Chickpea Burger - Duo

We had red pepper, cucumber, onion and lettuce leaves with ours. We also added a dollop of yoghurt onto each burger to counteract the dryness. In place of the yoghurt you could also use raita, or the recipe book suggests a sauce of (vegan) yoghurt with fresh dill (half a cup yoghurt, 2 tbsp. dill).

That’s it! Hope you like it!

Love,

Lady Joyful

P.S. I just realised it’s World Vegan Month this month. I guess that makes this post super-appropriate!

If you’re a meat eater – have you ever tried vegetarian/vegan burgers before? If you’re a vegan/vegetarian – what’s your favourite meatless burger?

Leave a Reply

