Baker’s Dozen: Burger Buns

Fresh from the oven!Yes, you understood that correctly. This post does indeed contain a recipe. Don’t worry, I’ll give you a moment to recover from your shock.

Recovered? Good.

Just before I started putting this post together I had a look back to see when I last posted a recipe. The last few posts have been about our foster kitten Ilona, and the couple before that were about Maisi.

I am aware that the blog has been going through (another) dry spell, but even so it appears the last time I posted a recipe was back in July.

July!

That’s a lifetime ago. I was unmarried, and unburdened by little fluffballs who like to attack feet through the bed-cover

Further digging unearthed the fact that the situation is worse than I’d realised. The previous recipe was posted in January. That’s practically last year! Honestly, what have I been doing?!

Well, a lot if I’m honest, but even so. How can I forgive myself for not providing you with an abundance of tasty treats.

It’s not like I haven’t been cooking. In only the last few weeks I’ve made crème brûlée, marshmallows, chocolate chip oaty cookies… To name but a few. And where are the posts about them?

Not here.

Not yet at least.

I do have good reasons excuses for that. The crème brûlée did not turn out as planned. Whilst it tasted good it certainly wasn’t up to scratch. There will be further experiments in the future, after which I hope to get a recipe up here to share with you all. That and we finished eating them before I could take pictures.

The marshmallows, likewise, got eaten before pictures were able to be snapped. I also want to experiment with the recipe for them a bit more before posting anything. Give them a bit more flavour. And for that I will need to go and buy more gelatine. The recipe uses a lot!

We do still have some cookies left (last time I checked, at least…) so I could take some pictures. The problem with that is the weather. Yes, the weather. It’s grey and gloomy, foggy, rainy, cold and disgusting. Blech. I don’t like the weather when it’s like this. Apart from the effect it has on my sanity, it also makes taking good pictures a difficulty. Sure it’s possible, but it’s so much effort..! I miss the sunshine lighting up my pictures perfectly for me, with little to no effort on my part!

I’ll try to do better though. So you can put those pitchforks back where you found them.

But as I said, I do have a recipe to share with you. Nothing major, just a simple little recipe for burger buns. And if you’re lucky, I might have a super tasty treat to share with you before too long.

Perfectly DimpledBurger Buns

Source – allrecipes.com

Servings – makes about a dozen

Time – approximately one and a half hours, including rising time

Ingredients:

1 cup/250ml/9fl oz milk

1/2 cup/125ml/4 1/2fl oz water

1/4 cup/55g/2oz butter

4 1/2 cups/630g/22 1/2 oz plain (all-purpose) flour

2 package (about 14g) dry yeast (as I write this I realise we only used one package, but the buns still turned out well!)

1 tbsp white sugar (the original recipe calls for 2, but we found that too sweet)

1 1/2 tsp salt

1 egg, beaten

Method:

Heat the milk, water and butter in a small saucepan until it reaches 50C (120F).

In a large bowl combine 1 3/4 cups of the flour (245g/9 oz) with the yeast, sugar and salt.

Mix the milk into the flour mixture and then add the egg.

Add the remaining flour 1/2 cup (70g/2,5oz) at a time, beating well in between.

Once the dough has come together turn onto a lightly floured surface and knead until smooth. This should take about 8 minutes.

If you want to let the dough rise twice, at this stage place the dough in a lightly greased bowl, cover with a cloth and leave to rise. (We didn’t do this.)

Alternatively, go straight to dividing the dough. (If you did the first rise, knock the dough back before dividing.) With this batch of buns I actually weighed each out so that each of the 12 pieces weighed the same, in an effort to ensure they were even.

Shape the divided dough into smooth balls, place on a baking sheet covered in parchment paper. Flatten the balls slightly before covering and leaving to rise for 30-35 minutes.

Whilst the dough is rising pre-heat the oven to 200C/400F. After rising, place the tray (cloth removed of course!) in the oven and bake for 10 to 12 minutes or until golden brown. (If you want sesame seeds, or other, on top of your buns then before putting them in the oven brush them with egg whites and sprinkle the desired topping over them. Bake as before.)

You can use the same recipe to make hot dog buns as well, though we haven’t tried it. Instead of balls, shape each piece into rectangles approximately 15x10cm (6×4 inches). Roll up tightly lengthways (so rolling the long edge to make long, thin rolls) and pinch the edges and ends to seal. Rise for 20-25 minutes before baking as above.

We made these buns to have with Curry Chickpea Burgers (recipe to follow!), but also had them with Italian-inspired mince that we chucked together one night. To be honest, they are rolls. You can have them with whatever you’d like to have in rolls. I had the last one for lunch just spread with butter. Very yummy! I hope you enjoy them!

Love,

Lady Joyful

Have you made burger buns before? What are your favourite fillings for burgers?


5 thoughts on “Baker’s Dozen: Burger Buns

  1. Pingback: Curry Chickpea Burgers | The Joyful Soul

  2. Less yeast requires less sugar, so the excess sweetness could be down to the yeast / sugar balance. Is Finnish all purpose flour (“plain flour” in English) strong like our bread flour?

Leave a Reply

