Pat-a-Cake: Dark & Light Cupcakes

Dark CupcakeI can safely say that I have thoroughly failed at keeping my blog-olutions. Unless of course anyone is willing to consider that the time since my last post has just been a very, very, very long day…

No?

I didn’t think so.

I could make excuses. I could tell you how busy I’ve been. How I’ve had exam after exam, my first placement (working shifts in a long-term ward), endless problems with getting the wedding organised…

Or… I could bribe you into forgiving me. With cupcakes. Chocolate cupcakes.

That sounds like the better option, right?

I actually made these cupcakes last October, as a birthday treat for a friend on my course. I’d meant to blog about them ages ago, but first there was NaBloPoMo taking up my time, and then… But I said I wouldn’t get into that.

Suffice to say that I forgot all about writing this post until I looked through the folder that I keep pictures in for future blogs. And I thought, what better way to get back into doing the blog again than with cupcakes?!

Dark & Light Chocolate Cupcakes

Light & Dark Cupcakes

Source – The Cupcake

Servings – Makes about 20 cupcakes

Ingredients:

200ml/7fl oz water

85g/3oz butter

85g/3oz caster sugar

1 tbsp golden syrup

3 tbsp milk

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp bicarbonate of soda

225g/8oz plain flour

2tbsp cocoa powder

plain and white chocolate shavings to decorate

For the icing:

50g/1 3/4oz plain chocolate, broken into pieces

4 tbsp water

50g/ 1 3/4oz white chocolate, broken into pieces

350g/12oz icing sugar

Dark Cupcake

Method:

Preheat the oven to 180C/350F/gas mark 4.

Prepare your cupcake liners. We normally use silicon ones, but as these were a present we used paper instead.

Place the water, butter, sugar and syrup in a saucepan. Heat gently, stirring, until the sugar is dissolved. Bring the mixture to a boil, reduce the heat, and simmer gently for 5 minutes. Leave to cool.

In a small bowl combine the milk and vanilla extract. Stir in the bicarbonate of soda.

In a separate large bowl, sift the flour and cocoa powder and add the syrup mixture.

Add the milk mixture into the large bowl and beat until smooth.

Spoon the mixture into the cases and bake in the preheated oven for 20 minutes until the cakes are risen and firm to the touch.

Transfer the cooked cupcakes to a wire rack and leave to cool.

To make the icing, place the plain chocolate, half the water and half the butter in a double boiler, or a bowl over a saucepan of gently simmering water. Heat until melted. Stir until smooth and leave to stand over the water.

Repeat for the white chocolate (we found the white chocolate icing was very runny, so I would suggest using less water).

Sift half of the icing sugar into each bowl of chocolate and beat until smooth and thick.

Once cooled, top half of the cupcakes with the plain chocolate icing, and half with the white chocolate icing.

Decorate with the chocolate shavings and leave to set.

And there you have it. Slightly more involved than some of the other recipes, but they taste good and don’t look bad either!

Light & Dark Cupcakes

Do you prefer dark, white or milk chocolate?

Love,

Lady Joyful


One thought on “Pat-a-Cake: Dark & Light Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Baker’s Dozen: Burger Buns | The Joyful Soul

Leave a Reply

