Looking Forward

This is what happens when you let us loose with macro.

Happy New Year from Elvis, and all here at The Joyful Soul!

Happy New Year my lovely readers. I know, I’m a bit late off the mark. I’ve just returned from visiting my family over in England, so now I can get back to blogging! To start off my blogging year I’m going to talk a little bit about what to expect in 2013.

Before I get to that though… how are you all? I hope you had a wonderful Christmas and New Year.

We had an interesting holiday season. Our Christmas was quite spread out – we celebrated partly on the 24th (when the Finnish celebrate Christmas), partly on the 25th (when the English celebrate Christmas), partly on the 26th (with S’s family) and then again on the 28th (in England with my family). In some ways it was nice to have Christmas going on for so long, but equally it never really felt properly like Christmas.

I definitely enjoyed my presents though! Many of which will no doubt be of use for blogging. The most likely is, of course, the new camera which I love. It may not be an SLR but it’s certainly good enough for the time being. Actually maybe the new computer keyboard I got will be used more for blogging, but that seems somewhat of a more passive use… I don’t know.

I also got lots of kitchen/cooking-y goodies which I’m sure will be used for concocting wonderful creations to share with you all. These included a box-grater, a kitchen blowtorch and a pizza stone, amongst other things. I’m sure many people would find these to be somewhat lacklustre gifts, but I’m very pleased with them!

That’s enough of the past I think. Shall we move on to the future? I had made a few New Year blog-olutions (see what I did there?) but I’m a bit late starting on them now… Never mind, eh? Well I’ll tell you them anyway.

The Joyful Soul’s 2013 Blog-olutions

Post almost every day, even if it is just a photo

Post one how-to (e.g. recipe, craft-y thing) a week

Take part in more blogging challenges! (Perhaps at least one a month?)

Not a very long list, but I think they’ll be challenging enough in their own rights. The first one hasn’t started off well, but being in England didn’t leave me much blogging time. We’ll just start from now! If I remember I’ll check back on our progress every now and again so we can all see how things are going.

So those may give you some of an idea of what to look forward to in the coming year. There are also some upcoming events that may influence what we blog about…

Important Happenings in 2013 to Anticipate

Lord and Lady Joyful get married!

Lady Joyful starts her first clinical placement

Lady Joyful undertakes a reading challenge

Just a small selection there. I’m sure you can understand how some of those topics may influence what gets posted on here. The first is, of course, the most important. It will no doubt occupy a very large amount of the discussions that go on, especially as the wedding date (14th September, write it in your diaries!) gets closer and closer.

The clinical placement is something I am eagerly anticipating, but at the same time am approaching with nervous reluctance. I’m sure it will be a wonderful experience, I’m just not entirely sure what to expect from it!

The reading challenge is something I’ve done for the last couple of years, over on Goodreads. In 2011 I met my target, despite only starting half way through the year. Last year was far less successful as I failed to account for the way that my studies would cut into my reading time. This year I’m aiming for 25 books in the year, which shouldn’t be too difficult..! I’ve already started and am currently reading Through the Language Glass which I am enjoying. Perhaps I’ll write a review here when I’m done! We shall see.

I’m sure there are many other things to anticipate in the year ahead, but those are the ones that I thought of immediately.

I think that’s all for today, folks!

What are you looking forward to in the year ahead? What blog-olutions (or resolutions!) have you made? How are they going so far?

6 thoughts on “Looking Forward

  1. Pingback: Pat-a-Cake: Dark & Light Cupcakes | The Joyful Soul

  2. Pingback: Book Review: Through the Language Glass | The Joyful Soul

  3. Congratulations on all your exciting changes to come in 2013! I admire your committment to daily posts. I’m aiming for one per week since I’m trying to finish the next novel. I’d be honored if you read, “Memory Lake: The Forever Friendships of Summer” as part of your GoodReads challenge. It has five star reviews and won a Next Generation Indie Award.

    I agree with gooseyanne, September is a great month for a wedding. Happy New Year! Cheers!

    • Thank you for your comment and the congratulations. Hopefully I’ll be able to live up to my goals – I’ve been known to make many a grand plan and not quite make the target, but perhaps that’s because I can be somewhat hard on myself. Daily blogging would certainly be even more challenging when trying to finish a novel. Best of luck with your writing 🙂 I’ll see if I can get hold of a copy of your book (may be tricky to find here in Finland, but perhaps I’ll take a look around the ‘net and order a copy). It does sound interesting!

  4. Welcome back! You have certainly chosen an auspicious date for your wedding -14th September is my birthday. I will drink a toast to the bride and groom then.

    • Thank you! A close friend of mine also has her birthday on the 14th September. It was a fairly easy date to chose – we got together on the 14th September, 2 years (to the day) later we got engaged, and another 2 years we will be getting married! Certainly makes it easy to remember!!

Leave a Reply

