NaBloPoMo: Testing, Testing

Anyone who saw my post yesterday will know I had an exam today. Thank you to all the well-wishers. Perhaps you would like to know how I did?

I passed!

Actually it was extremely easy. Most of the class passed. It was a medical calculations test, and the pass rate was 100% which does seem pretty harsh. But the questions were very simple.

It’s the second exam I’ve had so far this month. The first was an anatomy exam on the musculoskeletal system, which was also fairly easy. I passed that too, with a very good grade. I was very pleased. I think I over-prepared for that one, but it paid off, so I’m not complaining. Better to be over-prepared than under-prepared, right?

We have four more exams before the Christmas holidays. Two of which are for anatomy. With some consideration it doesn’t seem that much. When doing GCSEs and A levels I had far more tests in far less time. But equally, it feels like a lot of testing. I have been out of formal studying for a few years now, and it’s weird to get back in to it and be bombarded with all this information.

I remember I always used to hate exams. I would get nervous. I would normally cram at the last minute. I clearly recall one occasion when my mum asked how I did on a test. I’d actually bothered to revise for that particular test, but I did badly. I think I snapped at my mum and told her I was never revising again because what is the point if I do better when I don’t?

Ah, teenagers. A fun bunch they are. I’m sure I had my fair share of teenage temper tantrums. Most teenagers do. And anybody who claims otherwise is more than likely lying.

I think I’ve actually mellowed a bit as a learner, in my old age. Okay, okay, I’m not that old, but you know what I mean. I don’t do the cramming so much any more. I’m no Hermione Granger when it comes to planning revision, but I do work towards exams a bit more sensibly than I used to.

And the teenage temper tantrums are a thing of the past!

Mostly…

What kind of exam learner are you? Do you cram at the last minute, have colour-coded revision timetables planned weeks ahead, or are you somewhere in between? 

3 thoughts on “NaBloPoMo: Testing, Testing

  1. Well done on that pass! I, too, started re-sitting exams well after I left school. Unlike you, I was never nervous at school and sailed through the exams – in my 30s I got terrible exam nerves and once walked out of an exam after 15 minutes!!!! I did, however, resit next time round and passed.

    • Thank you! I think the most difficult part of exams is actually starting them. Although equally if you look at the questions and know that there is absolutely no chance of being able to answer them, there’s very little point in staying there!

      • Ah! that was the point. My exam nerves meant that l looked at all the questions and thought I couldn`t answer a single one. When I realised that this feeling was just nerves, I glued myself to the seat and just worked through the questions in recommended fashion.

Leave a Reply

