NaBloPoMo: A Journey of a Thousand Miles Begins with a Single Step

November 4th – What’s the biggest step you’ve taken this year?

After spending the day refreshing post a day I realised that they don’t give prompts on weekends. It’s a time for free writing. Normally I’d be all for that, but NaNoWriMo is hogging my imagination, so I resorted to a quick duck search to find something to blog about. The prompt I found came from The Imagination Prompt Generator at Creativity Portal. The title for this post is a quote from Chinese philosopher Lao-tzu.

Let’s begin shall we?

I’ve taken a couple of big steps this year. One of them was booking the venue for our wedding. That’s not working out so well at the moment – wedding planning is a nightmare and for the moment I’d rather not talk about it.

So instead, I think I’ll talk one of the other big steps I’ve made, which I think is probably the biggest. If you know me, or have read many of my other posts, you’ll know what it is.

Yes, I’m talking about the step to begin studying to become a nurse.

As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, it was a big decision for me. Having been something of a hermit since leaving my course at a university in England unfinished, the choice to emerge into the sunlight was a pretty big one. I would like to emphasise here that I hadn’t purposefully cloistered myself away, it just kind of happened.

The reason I think this is the biggest step I’ve taken this year is that I believe it will have the most impact on the course of my future life. When I am done with this, I will have a profession. A profession that, I think we all know, is very in demand. Considering the severe shortage of nurses in many countries, and the ever-ageing population, nurses will always be needed. Which means I should (in theory) always be able to find employment fairly easily.

Choosing to study this course has not only given me a purpose for the next three and a half years of studying, but the years after that as well. My life has a fairly concrete structure for the next five years, and a pretty good outline for the years that will follow those. Which makes a change from winging it.

What’s the biggest step you have taken this year? Do you have plans for the future, or would you prefer to just go with the tide and see where it takes you?

Leave a Reply

