Baker’s Dozen: Tortillas

TortillasRecently, or rather for the past year or so, there has been just one thing I want to eat for lunch. Tortillas. There’s so much you can do with them, they are just so versatile. And tasty too!

The tortillas we’d been buying were flavoured with garlic and herbs, and just so good. But they also cost money. Obviously. And the rate we got through them… well the cost does add up. So when I came across a couple of tortilla recipes whilst Stumbling and saw how quick, easy, and money-savingly they were, I just knew we had to give them a go.

And then I forgot about them.

But, a few weeks ago I reluctantly decided that we would no longer buy tortillas. If I wanted tortillas for lunch I was going to have to make some. So one day S and I turned our hand to making tortillas. We compared the two recipes I’d found and began to cook. It started out well. Mixing the dough was easy, kneading was fun and setting them aside to rest, well, that takes no effort at all! And then we rolled them out and cooked them.

It was a disaster.

Okay, okay, maybe it wasn’t that bad, but they definitely did not live up to expectation. The dough was too stretchy, we didn’t roll them thin enough, they didn’t cook properly.

We still ate them. They were alright, if a bit… doughy.

I must admit feeling a bit disheartened at that point. But I never once considered going back to buying tortillas. Instead I thought about the problems we had and considered some possible workarounds. I also read the comments left on the original recipes to see if there were any ideas there.

Last Friday I decided to give the tortillas another try. I made them whilst S was at work. And, well… they were fantastic, if I do say so myself. I had two right then for my lunch, just warm from the pan and with a dab of butter. The recipe was saved! Thanks to my dubious ingenuity. We liked them so much, in fact, that I will be going to make another batch right after I finish writing this.

I really would recommend giving this recipe a try. It’s so easy, and so tasty! And one day in the hopefully not-to-distant future, I plan to experiment with making flavoured varieties.

TortillasTortillas 

Source – The Urban Spork and Clockwork Lemon

Servings – 12 tortillas

Ingredients:

375g/3 cups plain flour, plus extra for rolling

1/2 tsp baking powder

70g/5 tbsp butter, softened (the original recipes say vegetable shortening, lard, or half of each, but butter worked fine for me)

3/4 tsp salt

3/4 cup very warm tap water

Method:

Sieve the flour into a large bowl and add the baking powder.

Add the butter to the bowl and rub in with your hands until it is completely incorporated.

Dissolve the salt in the water.

Add the water a bit at a time to the flour mixture, working it in with a fork until a dough forms. You may not need all the water – you want the dough to be fairly stiff, so use just enough water to get all the dry ingredients worked into the dough.

Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface and knead until it is smooth.

Roll the dough into a log. Cut into 12 equal pieces, then roll the pieces into balls.

Place the balls of dough onto a large plate and cover with plastic wrap.

Leave the dough to rest for at least 20 minutes, ideally longer.

Heat an un-greased, heavy-bottomed frying pan or griddle over medium high heat.

Roll the balls of dough one at a time into circles of approximately 18cm/7 inches.

When the pan is up to heat, cook the tortillas one at a time. Lay each tortilla in the pan and allow to cook until it gets the stereotypical tortilla spots (the source recipes say 30 seconds but I found some were taking a minute or so). Flip the tortilla and repeat on the other side.

As each tortilla is cooked and removed from the pan, you could place them onto a plate and cover with tinfoil. The warmth of the tortillas will then act to steam them slightly, keeping them warm and soft. I didn’t do this, and they did end up a little crisper than I would have liked, so I would recommend doing the steaming method. The tortillas at the bottom will, of course, be softer than those at the top.

And there we have it! You have now made tortillas! How does it feel? Eat them in whichever way you like, be it fresh from the pan with a pat of butter, or stuffed with your favourite filling.

These will keep well in an airtight container for a few days. To reheat I put them in the microwave on medium, with a small amount of recently boiled water in a pot – this helps to keep them soft.Tortillas

What’s your favourite way to eat tortillas?

Love,

Lady Joyful

P.S. we’re moving on Saturday and then I’m starting university on Monday, so I may not be able to post next week. I’ll try to though!

Leave a Reply

