Beef Quesadillas

Beef QuesadillasIf you read the blog last week you may remember that I had just been to register as a Finnish resident. They told us that a letter would be sent with my personal identity code within a week, so I’ve been waiting impatiently. Today it finally arrived. Literally on the last possible day – by law it has to arrive in a week, and today the week is up. As well as having my personal identity code in the letter, it also gave some other basic information about myself. For example, it mentioned that I am alive. And, you know… that’s always reassuring to know, don’t you think?

I’d actually been worrying that the letter might not arrive. Posti have always been awkward about delivering things to me. We actually made a request to the housing company to put my name on the door, solely for the purpose of increasing the chance of the letter arriving. Which in some ways was a waste of time because the letter didn’t even have my surname on it… Yet somehow it arrived. Not that I’m complaining.

We’ve not being getting an awful lot of cooking lately. Sure, we’ve been eating, but it ends up being mostly thrown together stuff. The problem is partly that S is tired when he gets in from work, partly that we never seem to have time to buy ingredients, and partly because we’re being disorganised lately. We bought ingredients last week to make Dallaspulla, and we’ve also been planning to make homemade tortillas. The idea was we’d make them this weekend just gone. We made neither…

Maybe next week.

Today’s recipe is one I’ve got filed away in my OneNote collection of recipes to try. You’d think with the amount of recipes I have in there that I’d be able to have a choice of recipes to post each week, but apparently not. I’m really slacking. Sorry.

We did make a few changes to the recipe. The wraps we used were herb and garlic flavoured, rather than plain. We couldn’t find refried beans, despite our supermarket having a Mexican section… so S decided we’d use baked beans instead. We skipped the chillies, and only used half the chilli powder, though actually I think next time I would use more, because I couldn’t tell it was there.

Beef QuesadillasBeef Quesadillas

Source – Adapted from BlogChef

Ingredients:

450g/1lb beef mince

200g baked beans (or ½ cup refried beans as suggested in the original recipe)

1 (4 ounce) can chopped green chillies (drained)

½ teaspoon dried oregano

½ teaspoon ground cumin

1 teaspoons chilli powder (wasn’t enough, despite me not liking spice. I would recommend at least doubling it.)

½ teaspoon salt

4 (8 inch) flour tortillas

Butter (for spreading)

Grated cheese of your choice (the amount here is really down to personal preference; S doesn’t like cheese much so he had far less than I did!)

Method:

In a frying pan, cook the beef over medium-high heat until it is no longer pink. If necessary, drain off any excess grease.

Stir in the beans, salt, oregano, cumin and chilli powder.

Turn the heat down to medium low and cook for a few minutes more, until heated through.

Bring another pan to heat on medium.

Spread butter onto one side of the tortilla wrap and place it butter side down in the pan.

Sprinkle all over with grated cheese.

Add some of the meat mixture to half of the tortilla.

Cook until the bottom of the tortilla is nicely golden brown and the cheese is gooey and melted.

With a spatula, carefully fold the cheese-only half of the tortilla over onto the meat side. Press down carefully.

Remove from the pan, and repeat the process with the other tortillas.

Cut into wedges and serve.

Beef QuesadillasEat, and enjoy!

Love,

Lady Joyful

One thought on “Beef Quesadillas

  1. Not all chilli powder is the same. The stuff I have at the moment is hot hot hot. Half a teaspoon in a meal renders it a sweaty and nose dribbly event.

    Once ages ago I bought what I thought was chilli powder only to find that there was the tiny word “seasoning” on the label below the enormous word “chilli”. With that one I could not tell that it had any chilli in it whatsoever.

    The moral of the story is to be careful each time you buy a new batch.

Leave a Reply

