Pat-a-Cake: Healthy Chocolate Muffins

Healthy Double Chocolate MuffinsYes, I know, I’m meant to update on a Monday. Yesterday was crazy-busy for us though.

I’ve been living in Finland for two years, unofficially. Officially you’re supposed to register after being here for three months, but everytime I went to do so I was turned away.  On one occassion the woman we spoke to told us that it didn’t really matter because nobody was going to kick me out…

Two years is the amount of time, we were told, that you have to be able to prove you have cohabited in order to apply in that respect. You can also apply in a couple of other ways, the most likely choice being through having gained employment. But, as I found, most employers won’t take you unless you’re registered. And you can’t get registered until your employed.

That makes so much sense, right?

Saturday was 2 years to the day that I moved here. Well, actually it was a few weeks earlier, but it was that date that we went and told the housing company I planned to live here for good, so that was the date from which we could prove I’d lived here.

So, yesterday we went to Poliisi with the carefully filled out form, evidence from the housing company, and a letter from Appivanhemmat. We got there just after nine, and the place we needed to be had just opened, so we were able to go straight in. On our way we noticed a sign on the door telling us processing would take three months…

We were in the room with the lady for an hour. She checked the form, looked at the evidence, phoned the housing company. She talked to S a lot, seeing as he can speak Finnish and I can’t very well. She asked me a few things too, e.g. lady: so you were told you need to wait two years to register?;      me: yes;      lady: hmm… *frowny face*

After much waiting about she gave to us what she said was a very important paper (VIP!) and instructed us to go to the Maistraatti on the third floor. As we were leaving S asked how long  the processing would take, mentioning the sign on the door said three months.

She said it was all done!

Well, her/Poliisi part of it. We just had to take the VIP upstairs.

That’s what we did. We hung around a little while as there was someone else being seen to. Then it was our turn and I was given another form to fill out. Once that was done we were told I’ll get my social security number in the post in a week! So I am now officially a permanent residence of Finland!!

But that wasn’t everything. Next we went off to Kela and waited a bit more, and were given some more forms which I can’t fill out until the social security number arrives, but once it does and the forms are filled out I must send them off and then one to one and a half months after that I will get my social security card.

That’s assuming that we understood the overload of information…

Later on we realised one slight potential hiccup in the arrangement… Everything is dependent on my social security number arriving. In the post. Sounds simple enough, but we have discovered that the postal service seem to have some sort of vendetta against me, and refuse to deliver anything to our address that has my name on it. Or rather, that doesn’t have my fiance’s surname on it somewhere. We believe it’s most likely because my surname is not on the door to the flat, but as S said when I mentioned it to him “why don’t they just deliver to the address, whatever the name says?!”

Understandably, by the time we got home we were pretty exhausted, even though it was barely midday!

Today’s recipe is one we made a week or two ago. They are double chocolate muffins, though ours were single chocolate because we forgot to add the chocolate chips, whoops! I came across the recipe on Butter, one of the blogs I follow and thought we had to give it a go. After all, I love chocolate, and who doesn’t want to be healthy?!

Okay so Bambi pointed out they’re not healthy like a salad. Bambi’s such a spoilsport at times… But they are healthy in comparison to other muffins, so that counts as healthy in my book!

This recipe does include apple sauce, which you can make if you use the recipe I posted last week right here!

Healthy Double Chocolate MuffinsHealthy Chocolate Muffins

Source – Healthy Double Chocolate Breakfast Muffins @ Butter

Servings – original recipe said 12, but we got 20 good sized muffins out of it.

Time – 20-25minutes in the oven, plus I-don’t-remember-exactly mixing time.

Ingredients: 

1 mashed banana

110g/4oz apple sauce

1 egg

1/4 cup olive oil

1/3 cup milk

1/2 tsp vanilla

3/4 cup sugar

3/4 cup whole wheat plain flour

1/4 cup cocoa

1 1/4 cup porridge oats

1/2 cup ground flax seeds (or just use more oats. Flax seeds must be ground as they are difficult for the body to digest when they are whole. We grind our own in the blender. It’s dead easy, seriously.)

3tsp baking powder

1tsp salt

1/2 cup dark chocolate chips (don’t forget like we did!)

Method:

Preheat your oven to 180C/350F/gas mark 4.

Get your muffin pan (we don’t have one, so we just used a baking tray) and line it with muffin liners. We use silicon muffin liners – they’re reusable so they’ll save money compared to the paper ones in the long term.

In a large bowl combine the banana, apple sauce, egg, oil, milk, vanilla and sugar.

Mix in the flour, cocoa, oats, flax seeds, baking powder and salt.

Stir in the chocolate chips.

Fill each muffin liner with about 2-2.5 tablespoons of the batter. You want the liners to be about 3/4 full. Not too full or they’ll overflow.

Put your tray into the up-to-heat oven and bake for 20-25 minutes. They’re done when they feel springy but firm to the touch and a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean.

Allow to cool so you don’t burn yourself! Eat, and enjoy.

Love,

Lady Joyful

2 thoughts on “Pat-a-Cake: Healthy Chocolate Muffins

    • It doesn’t. When we first told the housing company that I would be living here they asked if my name needed to go on the door. They gave the impression that it was an optional thing, not necessary. So we said no. And then we got in the habit of telling people to “c/o S” my letters, so we never got around to asking if they actually could put my name on the door… Perhaps we should…!

Leave a Reply

