Baker’s Dozen: Flower Bread, Take Two

Carrot Flower BreadRegular readers may recollect my recent recipe (ah, accidental alliteration…) for sweet potato flower bread.

As I mentioned within the post, we had been considering making it again with one small adjustment – using carrot purée instead of the sweet potato. So last weekend we did exactly that.

I would count the experiment as a success, though there are a couple of lessons I have learnt from it, and I shall be sharing those here…

It seems that carrot purée is wetter, so to speak, than it’s sweet potato equivalent. Some of you may be thinking that’s obvious in which case, please stop judging me… For some reason, despite noticing upon the last addition of flour that the dough seemed stickier than last time, I did not think to add any more flour. Obviously I was under the delusion that some flour fairies would come and fix it for me in the time that I left the dough to rise, but alas, they did not.

Upon returning to my dough an hour later I found that it had almost escaped the bowl it was in… Not quite sure why it had risen so much in comparison to sweet potato dough. I think possibly the purée/water mixture into which the yeast was added was slightly warmer than last time, so perhaps that is why. Or perhaps we left it to rise longer. The dough was also holding on to the bowl with sticky bread-y threads. It was noticing this that made me realise I probably should have used more flour… But never mind.

Not one to give in to what some may see as failure, I began forming the dough into the pretty flowers that give the recipe it’s name. The stickiness of the dough did make this a little difficult, until I had a “eureka!” moment. I suddenly remembered reading somewhere (and don’t ask where, because I have no idea), that wet hands are extremely helpful for forming sticky dough. And it really was helpful! It was also somewhat amusing to watch the little pot of water turn gradually yellow-er as I re-dipped my slightly doughy hands.

The sticky dough didn’t really hold it’s shape overly well, so the flowers were somewhat less defined than they should have been. But it’s the taste that matters, right?

We brushed the rolls with melted butter instead of egg, this time. This was because last time half the egg ended up wasted… And we brushed the small amount of excess butter onto a crispy rye-bread to share, mmm.

I must admit we did each have a roll straight from the oven – S nearly burnt his hand breaking them off for us. They had a deliciously crispy bottom (I am not a child, I am not amused by these words… must not laugh…)  which I think is a result of the water I used when forming them. However they did stop being crispy once they’d cooled down, unfortunately… Fresh out of the oven is definitely the best way to eat these!

All in all, despite the problems I think these rolls turned out wonderfully. The colour is slightly richer than that of the sweet potato rolls. I can’t say whether the flavour of these is preferable to the others. I think I would have to bake up a batch of both (alliteration again!) in order to properly compare, suffice to say that these are delicious, and those were delicious.

If I were to make these again I would likely add more flour. I think just using common sense to judge it is a good idea. If it seems sticky before you leave it to rise, add more flour. If it seems to dry… well, you probably shouldn’t have put so much flour in!

If you want to make these too, the recipe is the same as for the sweet potato flower bread, but with carrot instead of sweet potato, obviously. And if you’d rather use melted butter than egg, go ahead!

Carrot Flower Bread

Let us know how they turn out!

Love,

Lady Joyful

2 thoughts on “Baker’s Dozen: Flower Bread, Take Two

    • Whichever you prefer! You could do one of each, even! Although, it may depend on which ingredient is easier to acquire, in which case I would imagine the carrot version would be first. We’re going to buy another pack of purée next time we go shopping and try yet another version. The purée I have in mind is a mixed root vegetable one, and I will of course let you know how it turns out 🙂

Leave a Reply

