Pat-a-Cake: Lemonade Bundt Cake

Lemonade Bundt Cake

Hello. My name is Charlotte, and I’m a chocoholic.

Cliché, much? But true nonetheless.

Way back into my childhood I can remember my parents despair as I would turn up my nose at any offer of fruit and grab instead for a chocolate mousse to get all over my sticky little toddler face. Aw, sweet.

Despite a recent bid to eat healthier, cutting down the chocolate has been problematic. But a few weeks ago the solution came to me…

Lent!

Now, I’m not really religious. At all… But I did go to a Church of England primary school, so I have a fairly good idea about what Lent is all about. I have ‘taken part’ in Lent before, but I guess it doesn’t really count when I give up something I don’t even consume very often…

So when we had our slightly-earlier-than-pancake-day pancakes I indulged myself by eating mind with whipped cream and drizzled with chocolate spread, mmm…

After which, it was no more chocolate for me! And, thus far, despite the temptation of the chocolate-filled sweetie aisle at the supermarket, I have stuck to my guns and not eaten chocolate hurrah! Also… roll on Easter

But a few days in, I found myself with a bit of a dilemma. You see, most of the sweet things I enjoy to eat as a treat are chocolate based – brownies, millionaire’s shortbread, chocolate ice cream… And now all are, at least temporarily, forbidden to me.

The horror of this lack of sugar fix was compounded by the fact that, here in Finland, there are very few sweets that I eat! For some reason the yummy blackcurrant flavoured sweeties in various sweetie packs should be replaced with liquorice… blegh. And the only other flavour I like to eat are the yellow (I am aware yellow is not a flavour, per se…) lemony ones. Which are often replaced with pineapple or some other aberration.

Woe is me…

However, being desperate ever resourceful I searched through my recipe collections and found a recipe from blogchef.net for 7-up Bundt Cake (which I have adapted slightly, and renamed with the brand-free name of Lemonade Bundt Cake).

So, we gave it a go and… we were pleasantly pleased. S was particularly fond of the icing, and has requested that I make him a bowl of just-icing… For the sake of his teeth I have not yet given in to his demands.

Lemonade Bundt Cake

Lemonade Bundt Cake 

Original source:  7-up Bundt Cake

Ingredients:

¾ lb / 350g butter, room temperature

3 cups / 225g white sugar

5 eggs, room temperature (I found that the finished cake occasionally had a slightly egg-y taste, though S apparently didn’t notice… but you may wish to try it with one less egg)

3 cups / 375g plain flour (that’s all-purpose, to the Americans out there)

2 tablespoons lemon extract

¾ cup / 180ml fizzy lemon-lime drink (we used sprite, original recipe used 7-up, I’m sure generic-inexpensive-brand would be just fine too)

Glaze:

2/3 cup / 85g icing sugar

1 tablespoon lemon juice (I think the glaze was a little too thick, though the flavour was just the right balance of lemon to sugar… Next time I’d probably use a little drop of water to thin it out)

Method:

Pre-heat the oven to 325F/160C/gas mark 3.

In a large bowl cream together the butter and sugar until it is pale and fluffy.

Add the eggs one at a time, beating after each addition.

Sieve in the flour and mix to combine.

Fold in lemonade and lemon extract.

Pour into your lightly buttered Bundt cake pan.

Bake 1 hour and 20 minutes. When it is ready it should start pulling away from the edges of the pan slightly, and a tooth pick inserted into the cake at it’s thickest point should come out clean. Remove from oven and allow to cool in it’s pan. When it is cool enough, remove the cake from the pan and leave on a wire cake rack to cool completely.

Lemonade Bundt Cake

To make the glaze mix the icing sugar and lemon juice, and if necessary thin slightly with a little water at a time.

When the cake has cooled, drizzle the glaze over it in a manner that borders between artistic and lazy.

Lemonade Bundt Cake

And then, eat!

Love,

Lady Joyful

12 thoughts on “Pat-a-Cake: Lemonade Bundt Cake

  1. Pingback: If It Tastes Good | The Joyful Soul

  2. Pingback: The Curtain Call | The Joyful Soul

  3. Pingback: Lemon Tart « The Joyful Soul

  4. Pingback: Pat-a-Cake: Lemon Iced Vanilla Cupcakes « The Joyful Soul

  5. Pingback: Chocolate bundt Easter eggs « livindolcevita

  6. Pingback: Sublime Lime Bundt Cake | What's On the Stove?

    • It was delicious. Coffee was there but that is like saying that you can taste egg in a sponge cake when what you taste is the whole not the parts.

      If I put nom into a translator (would that be US-UK or Young(ish)- Older) will it come out as yum?

Leave a Reply

