Baker’s Dozen: Sweet Potato Flower Bread

Sweet Potato Flower Loaves

Why did I decide to blog on a Monday? I have absolutely no idea. I guess I didn’t have to chose a particular day to blog, but being somewhat disorganised it does me good to have a plan. But of all the days I could choose, why a Monday, when it is always the busiest day of our week?!

Considering S and I are both unemployed I guess it may not seem hard for a day to be busy (by which I mean “you unemployed scruffians are so lazy just getting up in the morning makes your day busy”… I’m hilarious, I know).

Each day I try to get in at least an hour each of reading, Finnish practice and work, as well as at least half an hour of exercise and meeting a writing target. And somehow what on paper works out as maybe four hours of busy time always seems to eat up the whole day!

On top of that on a Monday I do the vacuuming, we often seem to end up having any appointments on a Monday (today we have two!) and regularly Monday is the day for returning our books to the library. Once a fortnight Monday is claw-trimming day (for the cats). We also do our laundry on a Monday.

And of course I decided that’s not enough, and I absolutely must add another item to the itinerary in the form of blogging.

Well, I never said I was clever.

And today, which is busy even for a Monday (two appointments!) I have chosen of all the possible blog posts that are halfway prepared, to post about Sweet Potato Flower Bread, the recipe for which is in Finnish.

Does this count as masochism?

Although, to be honest, how could I not post about it? This bread is absolutely delicious. I found the recipe in the March edition of the Pirkka magazine and just had to try it!

They were definitely a hit.

We made these on Friday evening, and by Saturday morning over half of them had been eaten.

I think the recipe has great potential for adapting to different flavours. We’ve already planned to make a carrot version this weekend, and will definitely let you, our readers, know how they compare!

Sweet Potato Flower Roll

Sweet Potato Flower Bread (Bataatti-Kukkaleipä)

SourcePirkka, 3/2012

Servings – makes 2 loaves/14 rolls

Time – Over an hour

Ingredients:

400g sweet potato purée (ours came in a packet, because the recipe said so… but it’s probably fairly easy to make. I’ll try it out in the future and let you know!)

1dl water

1/2tsp salt

11g dry yeast

6 1/2 – 7dl 3 grain roll flour (I would imagine it’s perfectly okay to use any type of bread flour. I would of course recommend whole grain!)

1/2dl oil

1 egg

Sesame, sunflower and poppy seeds (we only used sesame seeds as that’s what we had on hand!)

Method:

Warm the sweet potato purée and water to about 42 degrees Celsius. Stir in the salt.

Mix the yeast with about one decilitre of flour and add to the purée mixture, kneading it in by hand.

Gradually add the rest of the flour. The mixture will still be relatively sticky when all the flour is in, but should hold together well.

Add the oil and knead into the mix until it is well combined. The dough should be nice and soft at this stage.

Put the dough in a warm place and leave to rise until it is about twice the size. (We covered the bowl with a tea towel at this point.)

Once the dough has risen, knock it back. Split it into fourteen roughly even pieces.

Arrange the bread on a tray into the shape of two flowers. Each flower will have one roll at the centre, and six petals. We put both on the same tray and they ended up merging in to one… But that doesn’t really matter!

Whisk the egg and with a pastry brush, brush over the rolls.

Sprinkle the rolls with the seeds. If you have all three types of seeds, the original recipe suggests sunflower seeds on the centre roll of each flower, and alternate petals of poppy and sesame seeds.

Bake in the oven at 200 degrees Celsius for about 20 minutes.

Delicious eaten warm with butter. Store in an airtight container. I can tell you from experience that these last at least three days, possibly longer if they’ve not been eaten already!

Sweet Potato Flower Roll

Do give the recipe a try, and let us know what you think!

Love,

Lady Joyful

4 thoughts on “Baker’s Dozen: Sweet Potato Flower Bread

  1. Pingback: The Curtain Call | The Joyful Soul

  2. Pingback: Baker’s Dozen: Flower Bread, Take Two « The Joyful Soul

Leave a Reply

