Picadillo

When I was in school I hated cooking.

I know, it’s a shocker.

To be honest, I wasn’t the only one. The woman who taught us was a shrewd old lady who seemed to suffer from chronic displeasure. No one was capable of making her happy.

She only actually taught us for the first two years of secondary school and then retired. The teacher we had for the final compulsory year of food technology (as it was called) was far nicer, but by that time the damage was already done. I definitely did not choose to carry on studying food tech any longer.

Which is why it’s slightly surprising that today’s recipe is one of our favourites.

I have no idea why I salvaged all the recipes when disposing of my food tech folders, but I did. This particular recipe is from year nine (the third year of secondary school).

Picadillo is a Latin American dish. I’m not sure how authentic this recipe was to start off with, and we have since adapted it to suit our own tastes. That said, it is one of our absolute favourite dishes and possibly the only one that I can make without the recipe on hand. It’s a very versatile dish and can be changed up to suit your tastes by swapping in different vegetables and flavourings.

Picadillo

4 servings

Ingredients:

1 large onion

2 cloves garlic

600g minced meat (whatever variety you want – the original recipe is beef mince which we’ve used, we’ve also done it with 80%pork/20%beef)

70g tin tomato puree

200ml water

60g raisins

60g sweetcorn

Salt and pepper, to taste

Method:

Finely chop the onion and garlic.

Heat a deep frying pan over medium-high.

When the pan is hot put in the mince (no oil is needed), garlic and onion.

Cook until the mince is nicely browned, stirring to break up the meat.

Add all the other ingredients, season and stir well.

Put a lid on the pan and leave to simmer over medium heat for 20 minutes, stirring occasionally. If it seems to be getting too dry, add some more water.

Serve with rice and vegetables.

This is delicious reheated for lunch the next day and served in a tortilla wrap!

Love,

Lady Joyful

PS, sorry for the late and rushed post! I totally lost track of time and have just sorted this in the last half hour before having to leave to meet the new girl I’ll be child-minding!

PPS, sorry for the blurry picture!

4 thoughts on “Picadillo

  1. Pingback: Cooking Picadillo with Esteban a.k.a. Rice Cookers are a Crock | Cooking With Friends

  2. I am sure you cooked this for me once upon a time.

    (My WordPress name is the one I use on blog comments. Please do not divulge my true identity!)

Leave a Reply

