What’s In A Name?

We’ve been thinking of making a blog for a while. By “we” I mean myself and S (my long-suffering fiancé). Although if I’m honest it was my suggestion, and S has mainly just humoured me, for the most part.

Originally the idea was to make a cooking blog, which then developed into a “make and do” blog, and now seems to have settled as “let’s just write about whatever we’re doing at the time”. So, expect posts on food, films, books, crafts and whatever else takes our fancy.

Today I finally decided to grab the bull by the horns, as they say. Which brought an immediate problem.

We needed a name.

So we sat, and thought. And thought some more. And a bit more.

A century later…

Okay maybe not. But it felt like it.

The Joyful Soul

The name came from googling “quotes about doing”. Very specific, I know. And the quote we based it on…

Things won are done, joy’s soul lies in the doing.

For those interested, the quote comes from Shakespeare’s Troilus and Cressida, Act 1, Scene 2.

I’m a bit of a literary fiend, to be honest, so a Shakespeare quote seemed just perfect. Though I’m not familiar with that particular play… And The Joyful Soul has a bright, happy feel to it.

How did you come up with a name for your blog?

2 thoughts on “What’s In A Name?

  1. Pingback: Happy Blogiversary To Us! | The Joyful Soul

  2. Pingback: The Curtain Call | The Joyful Soul

Leave a Reply

