NaBloPoMo: Summing Up

NaBloPoMo of November 2013 is over. NaNoWriMo is also finished. A whole month of challenges come to a close. Anyone who has been following along through November will know that I posted summaries of each week. Now I want to take some time to talk about how the month was as a whole, and how things will progress from now on.

During Motivember, as I called November, I set myself five main goals. These were to complete NaBloPoMo and NaNoWriMo, as well as cutting down chocolate consumption, increasing the amount of exercise I do, and saving electricity. Just like I did with my end of week summaries I’m going to talk a little bit about each goal here.

  • NaBloPoMo

The idea of NaBloPoMo is to blog every day. There are no limits on what you blog; it can be any topic and any length. It can be nothing more than a photograph if you want. As much as possible I like to write posts. Over the month my blog posts averaged about 780 words in length. I think there were about five posts where I “cheated” – they were still within NaBloPoMo rules, but they felt like cheating to me. For example when I posted just a picture, or made excuses or just threw something together.

It may have felt like cheating but I still managed to post daily, and as I mentioned in the end of week four summary the difference in regards to me viewing statistics was more than obvious. Going forward my aim is to try and keep up momentum. I’m not promising I’ll post daily (I took a well-deserved break yesterday, after all) but I certainly hope the posts will be several times a week.

  • NaNoWriMo

Writing 50,000 words in a month is a big undertaking. I’ve participated in the challenge in previous years and the highest I ever managed was about 16,000. This year I did it. Even now, several days later, it still feels amazing. It may have taken a lot to get to that stage. A 10,000 word Marathon is not a normal part of NaNoWriMo after all! There were, however, eight days when I did not write at all, and two others when my contribution was below three figures. Next year I intend to write every day no matter what.

Finishing NaNoWriMo does not automatically lead to a finished novel. This is true for me. My novel still has a fair way to go. Having managed to write 50,000 words of it I’d hate to lose focus now. In this case my goal is again to try and keep up the momentum. Keep writing and get the novel finished. I would like it done before I fly over to England on the 16th, but I’m not certain how feasible that is. When it has been completely written (and allowed to sit and ripen for a little while!) I will proofread it, then edit it (multiple times) before seeing if I can manage to get it published. That is the plan at least!

  • Chocolate consumption

As a chocoholic this was quite difficult for me. I like to finish meals with something sweet, and seeing as we rarely have anything else available I normally turn to chocolate. I did manage to stick to my goal of no more than two bars a week, though I “cheated” a little in as much as I did not always only have them at the weekends which was when I was supposed to be allowed them. I think the main thing, though, was that I did not go over my allotted quota.

Moving forward I would still like to try and keep my chocolate consumption down. I’ve already broken last months rules – every day of this month so far I have eaten a bar of chocolate. I know why it is; I’ve been comfort eating because I have been feeling extremely stressed and anxious these last few days. I’ll try and curb it going forwards, but it will certainly be far easier once the stress is gone. If it is ever gone.

  • Exercise

November’s goal was to workout three times a week, and ideally cycle or walk every day. That second part turned into just getting out of the house every day. I don’t recall exactly but I believe there were only five days where I didn’t do any exercise or get out of the house. I think there were days though that I did a workout and then was inside all day, or days that I skipped the workout. Not many of them, but some.

Now that it is getting colder (we have snow, and temperatures topping zero Celsius) going out every day is certainly not an appealing idea. I intend for us to keep up the workouts (though we did not do yesterday’s) and we will try to get outside most days, weather dependent.

  • Saving electricity

Our energy consumptions is higher than we would like. And of course electricity costs money that we could be using on other things. We stuck by the rules of not having computers on before midday, plus a penalty if we overslept. There were a few exceptions but they were inescapable – when I had to watch streamed lectures, and when my Marathons took place (yes I believe they justified it.)

We’re very happy with the decrease in energy usage, but are expanding on the idea. Through December the decision is that we will continue to be computer-free before midday, and also add the caveat that computers must be turned off by nine o’clock in the evening. This should help us with improving our sleep patterns, especially as it’s good to disconnect before sleeping!

That’s the end of the recap and new goal setting. All in all I am really happy with how November went, and feeling optimistic for the future. Let’s hope everything continues in this vein!

Love,

Lady Joyful

P.S. This it The Joyful Soul’s 100th post! Hurrah!

How did your November goals go? What goals do you have for December, and beyond?

4 Comments

Filed under Joyful Ramblings

4 responses to “NaBloPoMo: Summing Up

  1. Hurrah too!

    Turn your heating down a degree or two (or is that unmetered via communal heating?).

    Going forward this may be useful: http://www.plainenglish.co.uk/campaigning/examples/cliches.html

Leave a Reply

