Tags

,

PostADay Prompt November 7th – Tell us about something you’ve done that you would advise a friend never to do.

Well this is an interesting prompt. I think everyone has their fair share of mistakes. Everyday someone, somewhere does something that they subsequently wish they hadn’t. It may take years or just seconds to realise that they did the wrong thing, but it’ll come. It might be something that causes pain or heartache, it could be cringe-worthy and embarrassing, or it could just be making the wrong call regarding a difficult decision.

Of course there are things in my life that I look back and wonder, why. Why did I do that? What was I thinking?

Thing is I can’t think of anything of them right now. Now that could be for one of two reasons…

Number one – it is late. I am tired and still haven’t finished my NaNoWriMo for the day. On top of which the stress from today’s lessons may have contributed to my brain dribbling out of my ear.

If you were wondering, the stress came from learning to do injections. On each-other. And I am slightly needle phobic… When I say slightly I may be under-emphasising…

Anyway, let’s get back on topic, shall we?

Reason number two – I am happy with where I am in my life right now. It’s not perfect. It has it’s problems, of course. But I like it. It’s mine, and it’s going places.

Why would this reason make it difficult to think of something to advise friends not to do? Well… I am acutely aware that everything in my life has lead me, directly or otherwise, to this very point. To regret any of those things would mean regretting the route to the life I have now. Like they say, you can’t make an omelette without breaking a few eggs.

I’m not saying I’ve never regretted any of my actions. Believe me I have. When I was at my lowest I would daydream about going back and fixing all the things that had gone wrong. But even then I could appreciate the importance of them, and the impact changing them could have… For example, I had a kitten who died at six months because he didn’t wake up from being ‘done’. If I could somehow save him from that fate I would do it in a heartbeat. But then, we never would have adopted the two cats from the RSPCA centre if we’d still had him.

Another example… The university course I started in England. I didn’t even finish the first year. At first glance it looks like all I got out of the experience was debt from student loans, a knock to my confidence, and a wasted year of my life. But if I hadn’t gone… I wouldn’t have made a wonderful friend, with whom I frequently exchange letters. And I truly believe my relationship with S wouldn’t have progressed as it has. Yes I wish I didn’t have the debt, but I would never risk losing what I have with him.

So returning to the prompt… Actually I guess I do have something that I would tell a friend never to do.

Never regret the things that go wrong; they all contribute (in their own way) to all the things that go right.

What would you advise a friend never to do? What things have gone wrong in your life that have, directly or otherwise, led to it being enriched?

